L&S 2.05 Ram Usage

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by Trial user, Sep 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Trial user

    Trial user Guest

    I'm using L&S 2.05 trial on Windows XP SP1.According to "Windows Task Manager",L&S Ram usage is 24,888 K.B. (I wish I could attach a screen shot).
    Isn't it too high??
     
  2. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    Yes, it's a bit high, I think.

    If you have a lot of alert in the Look 'n' Stop log, this could explain why Look 'n' Stop uses more memory than expected.
    Could you check the log ?

    Frederic
     
  3. Trial User

    Trial User Guest

    @Frederic-
    My log page contain few alerts.So,I guess,this is not the reason for L'n'S high Ram usage.Could it be a memory leak??
     
  4. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    If there is a memory leak, it would be strange that nobody detected it yet.
    But perhaps anyway under specific circumstances.

    Do you get these 24 MB just after Look 'n' Stop is started or later ?
    Are you using a big ruleset ? or the standard one ?
    Any other specific configuration you may have done ?

    Frederic
     
  5. Trial User

    Trial User Guest

    @Frederic-

    1.Yes,I'm getting the 24 M.B Ram consumption when L'n'S is started.
    2.I'm using the standard ruleset.
    3.I'm using L'n'S default configuration.(Nothing has been changed or added).
     
  6. gkweb

    gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,932
    Location:
    FRANCE, Rouen (76)
    Hi,

    what are the other applications starting at startup with Look'n'Stop ?

    gkweb.
     
  7. BrainWarp

    BrainWarp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Posts:
    287
    My self i have had looknstop for over a year. Great little [BIG] firewall .Currently looknstop is using 1.8 mg ,but i have seen it get as high as 8 mgs--- It may have something to do with other applications that are running along with looknstop like gkweb said.


    Im not a holy roller on the side of looknstop ,but the firewall does what it claims.
     
  8. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    I’ve not seen or heard anything like this before occurring on a Look ‘n’ Stop user's machine, are you using LnSSvc? If you just happen to be, try temporary uninstalling it and using one of the two Start-up methods provided in Look ‘n’ Stop (Start Menu, System). It would be interesting to know what AV system you use, if any at all? and of course anything else you may be running in the background...
     
  9. Trial User

    Trial User Guest

    I'm not using L'n'S SVC.
    I'm using the "System" option for L'n's startup.
    Only 3 programs are starting when my WinXP SP1 does:
    *Symantec AV 9.0.(Client)
    *GoBack by Roxio.
    *L'n'S 2.05.
    (The first 2 are running on my machine long before L'n'S has been installed).
    Of course there all the other regular processes and services which start with Windows.

    I'll check if something is wrong with my machine's configurations,causing this high Ram usage.
    Thanks for your support.
     
  10. gkweb

    gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,932
    Location:
    FRANCE, Rouen (76)
    Hi,

    how many threads are running in Look'n'Stop ?
    You can see this by opening the task manager, Processes tab, View menu, Select columns, Thread counts.

    regards,

    gkweb.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.