[Kubuntu] 14.04 How to install proprietary nForce2 integrated graphics driver?

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by zapjb, Apr 19, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,524
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Specs: Asus a7n8x vm 400 with integrated Nvidia nforce2 graphics, 2500 Athlon Barton, 2x 512MB pc3200 DDR RAM desktop.

    Of the 20+ distros I've tried Kubuntu 14.04 LTS desktop i386 is the only distro that had full functionality after a live session and install.

    Solving the video twitching is bothersome. It's like small horizontal dashes flickering on & off. And every once in a while (rare) the video blinks on & off quickly.

    Graphics Driver now shows as X-Server version number 11.0, vender release number 11,501,000.

    I want install proprietary nForce2 integrated graphics driver. Hoping that will fix my video & stop the dashes & blinking.

    So how do I install the proprietary nForce2 integrated graphics driver? I've looked & searched.
     
  2. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,524
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Ok I'm still clueless. I'd appreciate some help, thanks.
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2014
  3. Veeshush

    Veeshush Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Posts:
    643
    I found this, might be related:
    https://www.kubuntuforums.net/showt...d-this-section-of-the-forum)&highlight=nvidia

    You could try making a thread on there: https://www.kubuntuforums.net/forumdisplay.php?192-Kubuntu-14-04-Trusty-Tahr

    But also, you can always throw in a ZOTAC ZT-60604-10L GeForce GT 610 PCI card. I always just mention doing that with older rigs cause it's a lot less painful then messing with old legacy video cards and their drivers. Plus you get some some acceleration benefits and it just really helps these older rigs throw up a good resolution.
     
  4. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Err, I'm assuming you've checked the "proprietary drivers" section in the software and update settings?
     
  5. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.