KIS2009 Picked Some Things Up

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by whitedragon551, Oct 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,264
    Location:
    USA
    I have KIS2009 and I ran a scan last night and it picked up a few things. Mostly everything it picked up is related to Macromedia Flash and Im pretty sure they are legit.

    Those are the 4 things it picked up. Is it safe to keep these or should I get rid of them. I went to each link and each link said to update, but I ran a scan for updates in CS3 Master Edition and there are none.
     
  2. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    Yeah same happened to me today as well after i installed Adobe CS3.

    Log was this...


    Full Scan: completed 01/10/2008 13:49:41 (events: 7, objects: 145776, time: 00:29:41)
    Full Scan: completed 01/10/2008 13:49:41 (events: 7, objects: 145776, time: 00:29:41)
    01/10/2008 13:20:00 Task started
    01/10/2008 13:23:58 Detected: http://www.viruslist.com/en/advisories/31549 C:\Documents and Settings\*******\Local Settings\Temp\Patcher\Patcher3264\StagingArea\1313.dll
    01/10/2008 13:23:59 Detected: http://www.viruslist.com/en/advisories/31549 C:\Documents and Settings\*******\Local Settings\Temp\Patcher\Patcher3264\StagingArea\1313
    01/10/2008 13:25:19 Detected: http://www.viruslist.com/en/advisories/31549 C:\Documents and Settings\******\Local Settings\Temp\Patcher\Patcher480\StagingArea\4589
    01/10/2008 13:25:20 Detected: http://www.viruslist.com/en/advisories/31549 C:\Documents and Settings\******\Local Settings\Temp\Patcher\Patcher480\StagingArea\4589.dll
    01/10/2008 13:28:40 Detected: http://www.viruslist.com/en/advisories/28083 C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Bridge CS3\browser\plugins\NPSWF32.dll
    01/10/2008 13:49:41 Task completed

    What to do ? :doubt:
     
  3. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,835
    @whitedragon551
    update your flash player

    @poutine
    update your Opera

    Guys those are only a reminder that your products are outdated and vulnerable to attacks/exploits; it does not mean that you have viruses or anything malicious. ;)

    Panagiotis
     
  4. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,264
    Location:
    USA
    My flash player is updated. Its at the highest available version.
     
  5. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,835
    I guess that you are not using IE.
    This file (activex)
    c:\windows\system32\macromed\flash\flash.ocx
    will get updated only when you update the plugin through Internet Explorer.
     
  6. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    Thanks... but..... I dont use Opera !!
    I use internet explorer and my flash player is up to date.
    When i scanned before CS3 it was ok, after it picked up all the above. :doubt:
     
  7. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,835
    Oops... The files related to opera are in your temp directory, I missed that. :p
    Just clean up your temp files and should not warn you again.

    About the flash: try to update the adobe bridge.

    Panagiotis
     
  8. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,264
    Location:
    USA
    I uninstalled the activeX for IE since I use Firefox with IE Tab.

    I ran the update in Adobe Bridge and it didnt do anything. It still said there are no updates.
     
  9. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    28,668
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  10. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    I ran NPSWF32.dll through VirusTotal. Out of 36 scans it returned as a 0 threat. So i have added it to exclusions as there is no Adobe Bridge updates to cure the vulnerability at present !
    All the other items picked up got wiped by Ccleaner. ;)
     
  11. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,264
    Location:
    USA
    I fixed 1 of them by uninstalling the ActiveX for IE.

    I ran the other 3 through both and all came back clean from each one.
     
  12. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,041
    for flash player its best to close all web browsers uninstall flash player. open up firefox and reinstall flash player.
     
  13. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,264
    Location:
    USA
    I did that and it didnt work.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.