KIS2009 Picked Some Things Up

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by whitedragon551, Oct 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    I have KIS2009 and I ran a scan last night and it picked up a few things. Mostly everything it picked up is related to Macromedia Flash and Im pretty sure they are legit.

    Those are the 4 things it picked up. Is it safe to keep these or should I get rid of them. I went to each link and each link said to update, but I ran a scan for updates in CS3 Master Edition and there are none.
     
  2. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    Yeah same happened to me today as well after i installed Adobe CS3.

    Log was this...


    Full Scan: completed 01/10/2008 13:49:41 (events: 7, objects: 145776, time: 00:29:41)
    Full Scan: completed 01/10/2008 13:49:41 (events: 7, objects: 145776, time: 00:29:41)
    01/10/2008 13:20:00 Task started
    01/10/2008 13:23:58 Detected: http://www.viruslist.com/en/advisories/31549 C:\Documents and Settings\*******\Local Settings\Temp\Patcher\Patcher3264\StagingArea\1313.dll
    01/10/2008 13:23:59 Detected: http://www.viruslist.com/en/advisories/31549 C:\Documents and Settings\*******\Local Settings\Temp\Patcher\Patcher3264\StagingArea\1313
    01/10/2008 13:25:19 Detected: http://www.viruslist.com/en/advisories/31549 C:\Documents and Settings\******\Local Settings\Temp\Patcher\Patcher480\StagingArea\4589
    01/10/2008 13:25:20 Detected: http://www.viruslist.com/en/advisories/31549 C:\Documents and Settings\******\Local Settings\Temp\Patcher\Patcher480\StagingArea\4589.dll
    01/10/2008 13:28:40 Detected: http://www.viruslist.com/en/advisories/28083 C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Bridge CS3\browser\plugins\NPSWF32.dll
    01/10/2008 13:49:41 Task completed

    What to do ? :doubt:
     
  3. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    @whitedragon551
    update your flash player

    @poutine
    update your Opera

    Guys those are only a reminder that your products are outdated and vulnerable to attacks/exploits; it does not mean that you have viruses or anything malicious. ;)

    Panagiotis
     
  4. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    My flash player is updated. Its at the highest available version.
     
  5. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    I guess that you are not using IE.
    This file (activex)
    c:\windows\system32\macromed\flash\flash.ocx
    will get updated only when you update the plugin through Internet Explorer.
     
  6. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    Thanks... but..... I dont use Opera !!
    I use internet explorer and my flash player is up to date.
    When i scanned before CS3 it was ok, after it picked up all the above. :doubt:
     
  7. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    Oops... The files related to opera are in your temp directory, I missed that. :p
    Just clean up your temp files and should not warn you again.

    About the flash: try to update the adobe bridge.

    Panagiotis
     
  8. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    I uninstalled the activeX for IE since I use Firefox with IE Tab.

    I ran the update in Adobe Bridge and it didnt do anything. It still said there are no updates.
     
  9. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,938
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  10. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    I ran NPSWF32.dll through VirusTotal. Out of 36 scans it returned as a 0 threat. So i have added it to exclusions as there is no Adobe Bridge updates to cure the vulnerability at present !
    All the other items picked up got wiped by Ccleaner. ;)
     
  11. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    I fixed 1 of them by uninstalling the ActiveX for IE.

    I ran the other 3 through both and all came back clean from each one.
     
  12. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    for flash player its best to close all web browsers uninstall flash player. open up firefox and reinstall flash player.
     
  13. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    I did that and it didnt work.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.