KIS beginer settings

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Tony, May 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    721
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    Hi, i recommended my friend to try kaspersky Internet security suite.
    He is however getting fed up with the constant pop ups from anti hacker and the proactive suite.

    I am sure that i read on this forum i think, settings for a beginner intermediate and expert user but i cannot find them.

    I seem to remember proactive only enabling the registry settings but i could be wrong.
    Can anyone find the link, or post the settings as i dont want to advise him wrong.

    Ta :)
     
  2. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,634
    Location:
    UK
    During installation, the user is given the option to use basic or interactive protection settings.

    The basic protection settings is the default, and sets all components to their recommended levels. The user is only warned of dangerous events under these conditions.

    Interactive protection allows for more control of what does and what doesn't happen on the computer. By default, the Application Integrity Control is dsiabled under this setting, but can be turned on by the user if so wished. The Registry Guard is enabled in this instance.
     
  3. sunrise

    sunrise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    75
    for me, i will enable the proactive protection, but uncheck registry guard. that is good enough for me.
     
  4. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    Your friend has to be a little patient. The first couple of days the pop ups are really getting you nuts. :eek: KIS has to make rules for the programs on the PC, but once KIS has the rules there will be no or less pop ups and tthe PC is very safe
     
  5. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    See this thread. ( PDMs are not for ordinary users I believe. Infact PDMs must not be activated by default.)

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=166861&highlight=kaspersky

    http://www.drtweak.com/index.php?topic=150.msg415#msg415
     
  6. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    the best thing to do would be to do is uninstall and reinstall and select basic mode.
    that will protect the user but not display the annoying prompts.
    or turn of registry guard and set antihacker to low secuirty.
    lodore
     
  7. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    721
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    I`ll pass the recommendations on.

    Thanks for the advice.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.