KIS an MBAM Compatible?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by JerryM, Aug 17, 2015.

  1. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    A couple of weeks ago I had my laptop crash. The first problem was that Bit Defender IS could not load completely. I wanted to remove BD and install KIS. The problem was that I could not remove BD and when I tried to install KIS I could not do it. In time the computer crashed and I had a lot of trouble starting it.

    In time, with the help of Kaspersky forum I was able to get the laptop up and running with BD removed and KIS installed.
    One of the things that I was instructed to do was remove MBAM. I have it on my desktop, and have used it for years with all AVs including KIS.
    I am thinking of again installing MBAM and was wondering as to the experience of others here with compatibility problems between KIS and MBAM?
    Thanks for any replies.
    Jerry
     
  2. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,972
    Location:
    Brasil
    I tested MBAM with a ton of antiviruses and all of them worked.

    The only program that MBAM isn't compatible with (or wasn't, I don't know if they fixed the issue) is TrueCrypt. If MBAM scanners are configured to look for rootkits and you have your system partition encrypted, you'll get a BSOD.
     
  3. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Thanks, and that sounds like my own, although much less, experience.
    Jerry
     
  4. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,067
    THe new beta of MBAM fix the compatibility with Kaspersky, at least this is what the changelog says
     
  5. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,161
    Location:
    USA
    There is no compatibility issue or conflict between MBAM and Kaspersky. There's millions of users running both MBAM and Kaspersky together.
    If Kaspersky is telling you to uninstall MBAM it is not due to compatibility issues.
     
  6. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Kaspersky & BD seem to blame MBAM for most every problem when they (K & BD) start acting up. Disgusting, lazy & villainous of them.
     
  7. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Thanks, and I am using MBAM with KIS.
    Jerry
     
  8. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    239
    I have been using KIS and MBAM Pro on my machine for ages, and I have never had any problem with this combo.
     
Loading...