KIS 6

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by kjdemuth, Apr 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I'm not real sure if this should go in the anti-virus thread or not. Has anyone done any reviews on KIS 6 and where can I find them? I'm torn between using just the suite and using outpost and kav. I haven't really heard alot about KIS and whether it uses alot of resources. I just recently moved from nod32 and outpost because nod didn't recognize some trojans in some zipped files. I also tend to surf on the seedier side of the net. If anyone has any links to some reviews or has some personal experience, it would be appreciated. THanks :)
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    I dont know of any reviews, but this forum has several posts regarding KIS.

    Anyways, heres my thoughts: as a suite, KIS is one of the best. It has a top notch AV, its firewall is fairly good (seems similar to outpost), it has proactive defense (which could potentially block many malwares), and several other features.

    For all the features it has, its surprising it runs so light.
     
  3. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I've always liked kav but have tried to get a firewall that would run lightly with it. I've used zonealarm and it seems like its really bloated with resources. I recently tried comodo and that kept flooding me w/ prompts everytime I changed apps.
     
  4. tayres

    tayres Guest

    http://www.matousec.com reviewed the firewall components of KIS 6.

    I'm using the suite now and it's excellent.
     
  5. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    It is an excellent security suite. My thoughts on it are basically the same as WSFuser's. Of course, trial it before deciding on whether or not to purchase it.
     
  6. Shaker

    Shaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Norther California


    I am trying KIS 6. I have the firewall set to training mode. Do I need to go into the rules section and start configuring everything? When I saw that you said it seems similar to Outpost, I went in to rules and noticed a few of the apps had allowed outbound and inbound rules. Should I change those to outbound only? When I used Sunbelt Kerio, I never allowed inbound connections for any app.
     
  7. tamdam

    tamdam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Posts:
    88
    shaker, KIS has a whitelist with certain apps preconfigured - for example, check IE or Firefox settings, it'll have things like "HTTP Access" already there. This saves you from having to configure each program beforehand.
     
  8. Shaker

    Shaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Norther California

    I'm not very good with firewall rules. Let me try to explain myself a little better if I can. I'll use Firefox as an example. In firewall settings>rules for applications>firefox.exe, there are 8 rules listed. All are outbound allowed rules except for one, Firefox FTP Data Activity. It has an allow inbound (stream) TCP connection rule. Should I worry that it is an inbound rule? Should I change that to an outbound rule? Should I change any inbound rule to outbound for apps such as Firefox, IE, OE, etc., or trust what anti-hacker has set? I'm not certain if inbound allowed rules are safe. Sorry if these are dumb questions. Like I said, I'm not very good with firewall rules.
     
  9. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    If your not sure, leave it at default settings, after all the default settings of any suite and put in place by experts :cautious: So basicallt they are good enough to protect :cool:
     
  10. coolbluewater

    coolbluewater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Posts:
    268
    Location:
    next door to Redmond
    To the OP: you can Google for reviews; there are plenty available.
    You can also dig around in the Kaspersky forum at http://forum.kaspersky.com/
     
  11. Shaker

    Shaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Norther California


    That does make sense. The experts certainly know more than I do. KIS 6 is running nicely, so I'll just leave things as they are. I don't want to muck up the works. :)

    Thanks DVD+R :)
     
  12. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Entirely Welcome Shaker:)
     
  13. Monkey_Feces

    Monkey_Feces Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Posts:
    52
    If I install KIS 6.0 with every preconfigured setting, how much protection am I losing? If I'm a high risk user, would I be protected far less than an "expert" configured setup?

    On a similar note, does KIS include a traditional firewall which displays and offers options for connection attempts (think comodo)? If it doesn't, am I sufficiently protected from "phone homes"?
     
  14. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    If youre a high risk user, id suggest you change the security level for all the antivirus to maximum. Also enable the extended database if not already.
     
  15. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    When you install KIS you have two preconfigureed levels of defense available to you; Basic & Experienced. I would choose the Basic setting which is fine for most users and make the following changes (1) change the Filteration system setting under Anti Hacker from Low to Training; this will provide you with a prompt every time there is an outbound connection attempt and allow you to Allow or Deny it and automatically create a rule based on your decision, for the future (2) enable the Registry Guard component of the Proactive Defense Module (PDM). But I would not enable the Application Integrity Component which will also be off as this will work at the .dll level and will initially generate a very large number of popups. I believe that most users of KIS keep this turned off.

    There may be other suggestions that other KIS users could suggest and if you want more information then I would take a look at the Kaspersky forum at:

    http://forum.kaspersky.com/

    In terms of high risk users I would go along with what WSFuser has suggested on that point.:D
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Rules
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    168
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.