KIS 6 and FD-ISR

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by Baedric, Jun 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Baedric

    Baedric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    I have KIS 6 and yesterday I downloaded the trial of FD-ISR. The install went well until I attempted to back up the MBR, when I got an error message. I was able to create a snapshot and even boot from a snapshot, I played around with it for a while, but when I tried to uninstall FD-ISR, the uninstall did not go so well, error messages, corrupt un-installation, etc... I ended up restoring from a ghost image this morning.
    Is it possible to use these two programs together without conflict? I would really like to be able to use them both.
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,904
    They worrk fine together. You mean make the floppy of the boot record.

    How did you try the uninstall?
     
  3. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,720
    Location:
    UK
    I'm running KIS build .300b in one snapshot and testing MP1 builds in another. I've not come across any conflicts other than this possible one.
     
  4. Baedric

    Baedric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    Thanks for the responses!
    I have re-installed FD-ISR and it went without any problems whatsoever. I really cannot explain what went wrong before, but the first time I could not create the back-up MBR floppy. Then when I tried to un-install from add/remove programs, I got corruption/error messages and wound up re-imaging the drive.
    Everything is looking good now though and I really like what this program can do.
     
  5. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    I have had that experience too, once.
    And I was using a beta version of Trendmicro Suite.
    After re-installing it never happened again, and now I actually don't bother with the MBR anymore. :)
     
  6. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,516
    Location:
    British Columbia
  7. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,904
    That had nothing to with KAV. It was Rollback. I saw those errors all to often with Rollback, if anything hung the computer. I crashed and hung with kav/kis beta's with FDISR and nary a problem

    Those were chkdsk error's by the way.

    Pete
     
  9. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,904
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.