KIS 2014

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Houley456, May 30, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Houley456

    Houley456 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    130
    After many months of frustration with Kaspersky IS 2014, it now really runs smooth on my Win 7 machines....so the question is, does anyone run an additional security program with KIS 2014 or do you feel safe with just KIS alone...using normal (safe) web browsing?
     
  2. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,071
    Location:
    Germany
    I would activate Trusted Applications Mode and use a browser with a low-rights container and sandboxed plugins like Chrome or IE11.
     
  3. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    You just need KIS with application trusted mode ON :thumbd:
     
  4. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I would not want to be without MBAM.
    Jerry
     
  5. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    787
    Yeah, it is enough.
     
  6. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    With Trusted Application Mode on, you would not need it. It would likely cause more problems than it would solve.
     
  7. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    KIS would be good enough for the girls I go with!:D I would keep on demand MBAM or HMP. I think the new release at Kaspersky is coming...maybe month or so.
     
  8. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    Its all i use and i think its all you need with Trusted Applications mode on.Why add other stuff.
     
  9. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    With near 100% in all test results over the last few years I dare to say you're fine with KIS. No need for anything else.
     
  10. Houley456

    Houley456 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    130
    They just got KIS 2014 working great.....
     
  11. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I have a friend who was using Norton, and got a rogue that Norton could not find or remove. He could not even get on the internet and download anything. I put MBAM on a disk, took it to him, put it on his computer, ran a quick scan and it found and removed the rogue. I won't argue whether KIS 2014 would find it or not, I suspect it would, but want MBAM running anyway.
    As for problems, I have used MBAM Pro since its introduction with a fair number of AVs, and there were no problems with any of them. So I remain with the thought that I do not want to be without MBAM whatever AV I use. If the AV would cause trouble with MBAM I would replace the AV and keep MBAQM.

    Jerry
     
  12. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    With KIS in trusted mode, the rouge would have not installed... no need to repair if you can prevent it.
     
  13. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Agree that prevention is better than repair.
    BUT, I could not see where to go to the trusted mode. Instructions?
    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  14. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
  15. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
  16. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    That means? Can you be more specific? You are not limited on the web sites you will be able to visit. There is probably a misunderstading on trusted mode meaning. Did you read the article above quoted?

     
  17. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, this does not change the websites you can visit vs. not enabling Trusted Application Mode. As a matter of fact, after having set it up on 15 PCs, it really doesn't seem to affect the daily use of it at all. At least not in a way that limits productivity.
     
  18. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I thought it did limit them without making some effort to indicate "Trusted."
    I'll give it a shot.
    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  19. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    There are a lot of applications from Wild Tangent. If I remember correctly these have to do with some games. I don't do gaming.
    Should I block them?

    I also a lot of entries for Install Shield. I have no idea about that either.
    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2014
  20. Pain of Salvation

    Pain of Salvation Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Posts:
    398
    I`m impressed with KIS 2014. Very very light, I am runnig it with low security level and trusted mode enabled.
     
  21. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    You should see the folder where these are stored. Check creation dates, location, look at your installed applications.
    Try to understand why they are there. May be just left overs from old install? Then you may simply remove them from the HD and scan again.
     
  22. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I have blocked and allowed those I could determine, but to go to all the folders is too much trouble. I had over 400 to make a determination. If my current decisions do not work well, I will just not go to the trusted mode. So far I have not had any problems with malware.

    I think if I allow something that I could block I am not any worse off than not using the trusted mode.
    Jerry
     
  23. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    Critical to Trusted Mode is to start from a clean board. 400 items not recognised (unless they are all from a couple of software) is quite a lot I am afraid. Blocking them without a knowledge of what you are blocking (i.e. you have no idea on what is installed on your system) suggests that your baseline is not good enough (security wise). Therefore, your priority should be to actually clean up the system of unknown, unused or uncommon components and leave on the PC only what you are sure is legitimate or used.

    This is going for sure to be beneficial for the overall defense of the system against external attacks. Trusted mode can be seen also as an educational/training tool :thumb:
     
  24. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Thanks, fax. I appreciate your input, but I am not going to to the effort to take your suggestion. In 20 years I have never had a virus or other malware problem, so I'll take the risk.
    Thanks, again,
    Jerry
     
  25. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    You're welcome! No problem... :)
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Rico
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    411
  2. JerryM
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    605
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.