KernelFaultCheck [Dump o -k]

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by TheQuest, Dec 4, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi,

    Process Guard 1.1
    I do not know if any one as had the same problem as I have had, [no more, fingers crossed]
    After a restart or shutdown restart, I was having a loop of two or three Kernel Fault Checks. Many times.
    I have had to turn off. Write an event to system log; Send an administrative alert [In System failure.] And Non in [Debugging information.]
    Will this do any harm to the way to the way the PG runs? As yet there as been no event in it log? Or adverse effect so far.
    I have had no trouble slow shutdown, as others have reported.

    Thanks in Advance.

    Garry. o_O

    PS. Running XP
     
  2. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi,

    Just to update, It is not fixed. Still have CrashDump.
    Don't Know what to do to stop it, Will have to put up with it, Hope somebody as an Idear to the course. As I like PG 1.1.

    Thanks to any help.

    Garry :'(
     
  3. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Quest,What OS are you using please?
     
  4. Andreas1

    Andreas1 Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Mainz (Ger)
    ;) :D
     
  5. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, Pilli

    Running WindowsXP Pro,Service Pack1,All Updates. DiamondCS #TDS3.2.#WG3#PE 1.800#PG1.1 Also jv16 1.4.1.247 _ZoneAlarm 4.1_NOD32_
    Spybot-S&D_Javacool MBU Blaster_SpyWareBlaster_Ad-aware6 Pro_East-Tec Eraser 2003.
    AMD Athlon 2.800+, I.g of 3200, Maxtor 80g 133 X2, ADSL.

    Hope this is of some help.

    And a thank you to Andreas(W)

    Thanks again Pilli

    Garry :)
     
  6. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Quest, I think that your security settings may have upset the PG install, for instance did you leave AdWatch running, your AV etc?
    I would be inclined to uninstall pg then reboot (disable all PG protection first), ensure that procguard.sys is not running using System Information, Software environment, Drivers.
    Delete PG's run keys from the registry and reinstall with as few programmes running as possible, especially the registry watchers. After successful install reboot and re-enable your security programmes.
    Remember that pg has to install it's driver at a very low level in the system :)
    Another minor possibility is a corrupt PG download.

    HTH Pilli
     
  7. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, Pilli

    I did not have Ad-aware installed at the time, It was a clean [new]
    install of WinXP [Ti Image] and I had turned Nod32's AMON off also stopped TDS and Zap. Then Installed PG

    I will Try another wipe of HDD [0 write's] and try again if I have to.
    Don't like fdisk as you now it only kills the MBR as such.
    Do you have any other Ideas.

    Thanks Again Pilli
    Garry :(
     
  8. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    I had the trial version of PG installed. I removed that. Then I installed the full version and I got the blue screen/BSOD after reboots. I then proceeded to remove the full version and reboot. Then re install the full and let the install reboot me as well and the problem is gone. Hope you can use this remedy and get it all fixed up. :cool:
     
  9. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, Eliot

    Thanks for your input, But it seem too have stoped doing it. [for now]I have been Offline and done 18 restarts and 10 shutdowns and I did not have any Crash Dumps. I have to see how it goe's.

    Thanks once again.

    Garry :doubt:
     
  10. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Quest, I have seen similar things whilst beta testing, the latest betas have uninstalled & installed properly, I have a feeling that the earlier installer was a problem, possibly a timing "thing" but once windows gets used to the new driver the problem dissapears.
    BootVis may help: http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/hwdev/platform/performance/fastboot/BootVis.mspx
    Download:
    http://www.softpedia.com/public/scripts/downloadhero/12-2-1/
     
  11. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi,Pilli

    I thinks your right about it being a driver as it has stopped doing it,
    I will wait for PG 1.5 to come out, then put the setting back and see if it start do it again.

    Thanks again Pilli

    TheQuest :cool:
     
  12. macdon

    macdon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Posts:
    59
    :oops: I received this error notice:
    KernelFaultCheck
    Location: %systemroot%system32\dumprep o -k

    Registry or Startup Folder: HKLM:Run
    Since then, my computer will crash every time I try to do a deep registry scan using Registry First Aid or Registry Mechanic.

    Everything else works great. Is this KernelFaultCheck perhaps the problem? I have read on a forum to delete this, but don't know where to find it. Can somone give me "really good instructions" on where, how and if it is safe to delete it.

    Hoping for some smart computer person to give this poor old grandma some help!!!! o_O
     
  13. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    Macdon,

    Which versions of Windows and Process Guard are you using? The current version of Process Guard is 2.0 (with 3.0 currently in public beta), so if you are using 1.1 like the previous posters in this thread, an upgrade may be worthwhile (please see the Upgrading older versions thread for details on doing this).
     
  14. macdon

    macdon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Posts:
    59
    I have Windows XP SP2. BUT I don't know what the Process Guard is or where to find it to learn what version I am using. If you will please let me know what the Process Guard is and how to find out what I am using I will certainly check it out about upgrading.... :oops:
     
  15. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi macdon, Click the about box that will tell you ;)

    Having re-read your post the easiest way to uninstall PG is to boot into Safe Mode by preesing F8 just before windows starts.
    Then do a search for the following files and delete them.
    pgdriver.sys This is the driver and once removed PG cannot work.
    Delete all the files in your Process Guard folder except your keyfile if you have one.

    Next Start - Run - type regedit press return. Using the "Find" menu item type in procguard and delete all the entries that you can.
    Then using Find again type Process Guard and delete all the entries that you can.
    Reboot and PG will be gone.

    If you are not a licenced user I would suggest waiting until Version 3 is released and download the new trial version.
    If you are licenced then you will be able to download the latest beta tomorrow, the information for how to do this will be posted here in the Process Guard forum tomorrow.

    HTH Pilli
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2004
  16. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, Pilli

    I do not think he has DiamondCS's PG Installed.
    I think macdon might be thinking it is a part of Windows from what he says there.

    With Regards
    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  17. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Could well be, I must admit that there appears to be confusion in the post.

    @ macdon, Have youe ever installed Process Guard from diamonCS on your machine? Or are you thinking that "Process Guard" is a feature of SP2? - Which it is not :)

    Pilli
     
  18. macdon

    macdon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Posts:
    59
    :oops: I am sorry my post was confusing. It could be because I am confused! Anyway, no, I understand that PG is a program. I went to their site and read all about it and I do not have it.

    So, am I back to square one and just forget it since my computer seems to be working great UNLESS I try to run a registry scan using Registry First Aid, which causes the computer to crash, (instantly shutting down and reboots automatically). I can run a registry scan using Registry Mechanic, by clearing the deep registry scan option.

    After a crash & the computer :'( is up again, I get the message that the system has recovered from a serious error. And get an Error Message and Error Signature. Do you want me to give that info, too?

    The reason I thought the KernelFaultCheck error was causing this was that was the first error message I received.

    I have a hunch the whole problem started when I downloaded the Wal Mart Music Store and then a week later uninstalled it. This all happened right about that time.

    Any ideas? Or are you even more confused?
     
  19. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi macdon, Your best bet is to use System Restore in the help and support centre, pick a restore point that was set before you installed the Walmart thingy.
    You will not lose any work or emails etc. by doing this.

    HTH Pilli
     
  20. macdon

    macdon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Posts:
    59
    :'( System Restore was the first thing I tried. I went back day by day, and it didn't clear up the problem. The last few times I tried a restore it failed. I haven't tried it for a week, so may try again. One other time I had a problem and it wouldn't restore, but eventually it "healed" itself.

    Thanks for the suggestions, anyway....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.