Kernel patch of Con Kolivas. Apply to PCLOS-2007?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by zapjb, Jul 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,515
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Don't know if this is the correct section to post this. And I don't know much about this. My concern is with PCLinuxOS-2007. Also posted at that forum.

    Kernel patch homepage of Con Kolivas
    http://members.optusnet.com.au/ckolivas/kernel/

    These are patches designed to improve system responsiveness with specific emphasis on the desktop, but suitable to any workload.

    Apply to linux-2.6.22





    Also from: http://apcmag.com/6735/interview_con_kolivas

    Why I quit: kernel developer Con Kolivas
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    If the patch is only meant for linux kernel 2.6.22 then youd have to first upgrade to that version. iirc PCLOS comes with an older version of the kernel.
     
  3. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,515
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I believe there are older patches he's made. I just don't know if it'd be beneficial.
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Its supposed to increase performance but I dont know if its noticeable. Particularly Ive read it helps with games.

    I suppose youd need to find someone who uses it and can tell you.
     
  5. FastGame

    FastGame Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Blasters worm farm
    The CK Kernels are in the testing section of the repo :cool:

    Synaptic> Settings> Repositories> click on the repo that has check in box, look down at "Sections" and you'll see "main extra nonfree kde" add testing after kde, click ok and reload Synaptic.

    Make sure there aren't any updates avalible before you do this, after you do this there might be a bunch of updates and they'll be testing and not released to general type of things.....

    anyhoo a bunch of kernels and other things you might like to try :D

    Linux 2.6.18.8.tex5.ck kernel, Linux 2.6.20.14.dev1.ck kernel and many more.

    I use the Linux 2.6.20.14.dev1.ck kernel, don't notice any performance increase.

    If you want to test kernels they'll be in the grub menu after install, at boot select which one and have at it, if there are any problems reboot and select the default kernel.

    Happy Linux :)
     
  6. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,515
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I don't know whether to try kernel-ck-2.6.20.14.dev1.ck. Or kernel-ck1GB-2.6.20.14.dev1.ckl which is for (1GB lowmem) support enabled and supports up to and including 1GB of system memory (via lowmem).

    I run 2x512MB 2700DDR.
     
  7. FastGame

    FastGame Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Blasters worm farm
    I was told awhile back it doesn't matter, if so I don't know why they have the low mem one o_O

    I use the high mem kernel on both 512mb and 2g machines.
     
  8. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,515
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Ok FG dl'ng now. Thanks.
     
  9. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    There's no harm in installing the CK patched kernel, as I believe you will be offered both at boot time to select from.
     
  10. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Zapjib,

    I have been on ck patchset Kernel on my PCLOS 2007 since day one of install, by all means, go ahead, it would reward you with a snappier system and its a must as recommended by Texstar himself for high end video or audio editing rigs.
     
  11. FastGame

    FastGame Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Blasters worm farm
    Arup, what kernel version are you using ?
     
  12. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,515
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Ok after I boot into kernel-ck-2.6.20.14.dev1.ck.

    I get a command line login screen. Do I enter UN/PW from user or root?

    And then what command do I give?

    Thanks.
     
  13. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Usually your video drivers get automatically built over the new kernels as modules, thats the beauty of Mandriva as comapred to Debian, but looks like in your case, somehow your video drivers didn't get built with the kernel, there are two ways of doing it, one is the command line method, the other is easier, boot into your previous kernel and re-install the driver and reboot into ck kernel and see if they are now picked up, make sure to un-install your video driver and then re-install it.
     
  14. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,515
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I'm confused.

    So in my case, I reinstall nvidia_96xx.

    And reboot into ck kernel and see if they are now picked up.

    What does this mean?
    "make sure to un-install your video driver and then re-install it."

    At this point I confused by what the process is & in what order.
     
  15. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Remove your video driver after you boot into your working kernel, in your case, its the kernel that came with PCLOS2007, do a complete removal via Synaptic and then intall via Synaptic.
     
  16. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,515
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Ok. Did that.

    As a test, rebooted into ck kernel. Worked with default PCLOS driver.

    So now I guess I'll reboot into default kernel & install nvidia_96xx.
     
  17. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Yes, try and install in the ck kernel in case it boots with default nv driver. That way its directly installed to ck and all you need is a X restart.
     
  18. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,515
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Thats what I was thinking. Will do. Thanks.
     
  19. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,515
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Weird, weird, weird. Now I can boot into ck kernel. Everything is crisper & faster.

    Now I get that weird command line login screen when I boot into the default kernel.

    Should I worry?
     
  20. Arup

    Arup Guest

    As long as you have nvidia installed in ck kernel and glxgears works in console, you needn't worry as your primary kernel would be ck instead of the other one, when and if you would revert back to your older kernel, only then you need to install the driver again.
     
  21. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,515
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Thanks.

    What is glxgears?
     
  22. Arup

    Arup Guest

    glx gears is a screen saver cum test module, if it works, then it means you are using nvidia drivers with 3d hardware acceleration.
     
  23. Arup

    Arup Guest

    2.6.18.8.tex5.ckl

    Its in the regular rep, no need for testing rep for this, if you put testing, you will get the dev rep 2.6.20.x
     
  24. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,515
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    My mobo is an ASUS A7N8X - VM/400 - UAY.

    Onboard vid & aud. I believe these are the chipsets.

    Chipset
    North Bridge: NVIDIA nForce2 400
    South Bridge: NVIDIA nForce2 MCP

    Don't think that would apply or would it?
     
  25. Arup

    Arup Guest

    It would apply to any board running 3d acceleration, open up Konsole and type glxgears and tell me what happens.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.