"Kernel panic: Attempted to kill init!"

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by strugz, Jul 18, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. strugz

    strugz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    I'm new to TrueImage 7.0 and have been having trouble using boot CD/floppies created with the trial version. The error I get is "Kernel panic: Attempted to kill init!". Nobody else seems to get this error.

    I have tried pressing F11 (continuously) to get into the menu I have seen people mention, but it doesn't work. I have no opportunity to change any settings before the error so I can't try the "acpi=off noapic" workaround.

    Does anyone have any ideas on this? I like TrueImage but it's useless to me unless I can get the bootable media working. :(
     
  2. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
  3. strugz

    strugz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Not the same error. That one is "No init found", mine is "Attempted to kill init". I am 100% certain it's nothing to do with my hardware or my boot media.

    Any other ideas?
     
  4. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    I am 99% certain it will be either a hardware defect or incompatability. Remake your boot CD and choose the "Safe" option this time, that may work. It will narrow the possibilities.
     
  5. strugz

    strugz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    I'm 98% certain that you're right. ;)

    I have made 3 CDs and 2 sets of floopies so far, but I'll try and burn again at a low speed and see if it makes a difference. I assume that the 'safe' option will be presented in the boot media wizard...
     
  6. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568

    Yes, it is.
     
  7. strugz

    strugz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks, I'll have a go at getting it working later today...
     
  8. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    If that does not work, try unplugging every external device that you can before booting. (Like firewire, usb, etc.)
     
  9. strugz

    strugz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    I managed to get it working with the 'safe' CD, but it mixed all my drive letters up because I have both IDE and SATA drives. I should have C, D, E and S on SATA and F on IDE, but instead I have D, F, G and E on SATA and C on IDE. Probably doesn't matter but I'd rather have the correct letters assigned, if only for peace of mind...
     
  10. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    Still .... You win!
     
  11. strugz

    strugz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, winning is nice :D

    I think I'll wait a while before I buy, maybe then the compatibility issues will have been fixed.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.