Kerio = BSOD, Outpost = BSOD, Sygate = OK

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by mrpringle, Mar 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mrpringle

    mrpringle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Posts:
    14
    Hi,
    I used to use sygate personal firewall pro but since they aren't supporting it, I decided to try outpost. It was fine for a month or so, but yesterday I installed netbeans, and when ever I tried to lauch netbeans I got the BSOD. I tried this 3 times or so to make sure it wasn't an unrelated error, but when the problems kept occuring I decided to uninstall outpost and see if I could then launch netbeans. The result was with outpost uninstalled netbeans could be launched successfully.

    I decided it was time to switch firewalls since I need to use netbeans, so I installed the kerio trial.
    First thing I did after the reboot was run netbeans, which was fine. Later connected to the internet and opened up some firefox windows and I got the damn BSOD again. This time the error was slightly different. I got the same error as this guy.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=122752


    I don't know the version numbers, but I was using the most recent non-beta version of outpost and kerio.

    I really liked outpost, but I require netbeans also.
    Has anyone had this problem, or know how it can be solved. Agnitum didn't have anything useful to tell me except there have been reports by others of similar problems. Unfortunately that doesn't help me, or anyone else.
     
  2. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,700
    Hello,
    Why don't you use Sygate?
    Mrk
     
  3. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Hi mrpringle

    ... and welcome to Wilders :)

    No real reason to stop using it at this point if it was working well for you.
    Do you have this netbeans issue while running Sygate?

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  4. mrpringle

    mrpringle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Posts:
    14
    hi, the issue doesn't happen when I'm using sygate.

    When I tried outpost I really liked it, I was hoping there may be a known solution to this problem because I would prefer to use outpost than sygate, since outpost is being supported and improved.

    Anyway, I will keep using sygate for now.
     
  5. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. jhr76
    Replies:
    20
    Views:
    1,498
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.