KERIO BETAS-NO PASSWORD-HOW COME

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by DEAN, Aug 23, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DEAN

    DEAN Guest

    Anybody know where I ca get a Kerio3 beta 5 with a password that works. Id really like to know?
     
  2. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Kerio has stopped development on the v3.x betas.

    They are now working on v4.0.0 RC3.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  3. BlitzenZeus

    BlitzenZeus Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    451
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Its BETA, it was abandoned, and all development stopped for the program. They never got that part working, and I suggest you stick with stable releases.
     
  4. BlitzenZeus

    BlitzenZeus Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    451
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Thanks for making that note, RC3 is a beta release, and is not a stable release. They are planning on releasing a full version of 4x soon, but its going to be so buggy I don't suggest anyone use it.
     
  5. DEAN

    DEAN Guest

    Thanks for the info, I really liked the design of 3B5. Do any betas have the secure password for admin working or should I look for a hackers version that fixed it.
     
  6. BlitzenZeus

    BlitzenZeus Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    451
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    NEVER use a hacked version of security software, how in the world can you trust software that has been altered? How can you even talk about 'security' when your willing to used hacked software? That is completely oxymoronic....

    Find a final release of a program you like, and use it. Since you liked Kerio 3, you might as well download Kerio 4 when its first final release comes out soon even though its still buggy as hell. It will be just as buggy as that beta 3, and the password option should work.

    Just keep this in mind, using a password only prevents others from getting into your configuration from local access, you can still force the task to be ended through the OS.
     
  7. DEAN

    DEAN Guest

    I understand, but I also believe hackers are very intelligent.
    Have you tried 98BUU.EXE. I cant wait,it apparently removes unnessesary functions from the win98SE Kernel, like APP LOGS for the ISP.
     
  8. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,877
    Location:
    New England
    I absolutely agree with the above statement! No matter what you are trying to accomplish, there are far, far better ways of doing it than using hacked software.

    Dean, you've mentioned a few times here that you want to remove from Windows a lot of unnecessary and even problematic functions, well, a better way to do it is to try something like this:

    http://www.litepc.com/98lite.html

    The webpage above fully describes what this product does and there are members here who use it and say it works great. If you are interested in this, you could start a thread about it in the Software & Services section. Here are a couple threads about it over there already:

    Win98Liteo_O?

    Windows shrink safely done?
     
  9. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Could it be that 98BUU.EXE is just a trojan :rolleyes:

    98Lite much preferred over a filename that gets 0 hits on google :)
     
  10. JayK

    JayK Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Posts:
    619
    All these unknown guests sugguesting unknown stuff, bah, lousy hackers trying to do some social enginerring and failing at it...

    I wouldnt trust what a unknown guest told you if i were you
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.