KAV5 Personal Script Checker Problem

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Sheepeh, May 10, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sheepeh

    Sheepeh Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    When using IE with Kaspersky, it seems to be trying to use an old Avast! file that has been uninstalled, and it shows an error :

    Cannot load library for language 'JScript'
    Path : C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\AhAScr.dll

    Avast was uninstalled before Kaspersky was installed, if I install Avast alongside Kaspersky (turning off Avast's realtime) Kaspersky doesn't complain with this error at all.

    Anyone have any ideas of how to stop Kaspersky using an Avast file and just go back to Default Settings (tm)?

    <EDIT> Should have mentioned I'm using XP, Kaspersky 5, old Avast install was Avast! Free - and I'm computer literate so if it's a registry setting or some such feel free to suggest it. </EDIT>
     
  2. Sheepeh

    Sheepeh Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    Don't worry, fixed.
     
  3. pharout

    pharout Guest

    im having the same the exact same problem, how did you fix it?
     
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    He probably used avast! Uninstall Utility that cleans any remaining files/registry keys or values.
     
  5. DanQ

    DanQ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    Help! I'm also having this problem!

    I tried the Avast4 uninstall utility but no luck.......

    Help!

    TIA
     
  6. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    You can also download jv16 powertools to clear any reg keys and dlls out.
     
  7. DanQ

    DanQ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    Still no go :(

    There's seriously something wrong with Avast4 uninstaller, I wish I hadn't install it in the first place....

    Any more suggestion?

    I tried unregister ahAscr.dll, whilst it stop the error message, YM and window search still not working.
     
  8. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I installed the Avast! before install the KAV and don't have any problem...

    I always clean the register and disk...

    I use the jv16 PowerTools 1.4.1.248, RegSupreme Pro 1.0 and Ace Utilities 2.3.3.3001, but you can try the freeware RegSeeker 1.35b...
     
  9. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    You might have just completely borked your registry.
     
  10. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    What it means "borked"?
     
  11. DanQ

    DanQ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    Thx for the input guys,

    As it turns out, I'm not the only one who have this problem. I did a search on it on Avast! forum, and finally found a working solution. Somehow Avast messed up the javascript engine, that's why I can't use window search and YM (I guess they use scripts?). This happens if you try the Pro version (version that has Script Blocking), when you uninstall it, the dll is still registered, hence the problem.

    I used XPLite, uninstall IE and java machine, and re-install it. No more weird 'avAscr.dll' probs now .. weird :p
     
  12. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Hello,

    I think I've got the solution. Go to Kaspersky website and search for 'Script Checker' in their knowledge base. You'll find this problem listed there, except that the previous antivirus was Norton not Avast!. Try using the steps mentioned there, maybe you'll find a fix.

    Cheers,
    Firecat
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.