KAV Personal 5.0.388 released

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by QBgreen, Sep 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
    Enhancements:

    1. Error that caused drive types to display incorrectly under Korean version of Microsoft Windows 98 has been eliminated

    2. Error that caused application to freeze under Korean version of Microsoft Windows 98 has been eliminated

    3. Error that caused the application (anti-virus database and application modules) update from the Kaspersky Lab's updates servers associated with a different geographic region has been eliminated

    4. Error that sometimes prevented deletion of messages on the mail server when using POP3 protocol has been eliminated

    Known problems:

    1. The application freezes when performing a mail scan if a problem occurs when connecting to the Microsoft Exchange Server

    2. Incompatibility with previous versions of Kaspersky Anti-Spam Personal (up to 1.0.0.25)

    3. Limited compatibility with Sygate firewall. In order to solve this problem, disable the Enable driver protection option using the Sygate interface and install an additional utility program klimsetup.exe

    4. Incompatibility with the MсАfee Parental Controls application

    5. The feature of updating via FTP proxy servers is not available

    6. Incompatibility with Kaspersky Anti-Hacker 1.5 under Microsoft Windows 9x. In order to solve this problem, upgrade to Kaspersky Anti-Hacker 1.7 or to a newer version

    7. Pop-up information messages are not displayed when working under Microsoft Windows NT 4.0

    8. Problems when performing the update task if SkyDSL is used
     
  2. TDS

    TDS Guest

    Its an update only for Personal or its for persnal pro too?
     
  3. mnosteele

    mnosteele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    181
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA USA
    Both Personal and Pro.

    :D
     
  4. rush

    rush Guest

    Does KAV PRO automatically upgrade the version 383 to the version 388 by using the update?
     
  5. mnosteele

    mnosteele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    181
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA USA
    No, but that is something that I and others have suggested to KL and will hopefully will be integrated into the next release.

    ;)
     
  6. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Does anyone know how much the new kav pro built 388 is using as resources in MB's?

    dja2k
     
  7. Atomas31

    Atomas31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Posts:
    923
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Can we install this version over our actual version or do we have to uninstall our actual version and install the new one?

    Thanks
    Atomas31
     
  8. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
    There is a version without databases that you should use to upgrade a currently installed KAV. Simply exit KAV and install. All of your settings will be preserved.
     
  9. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Exactly, it's the version without databases on the productspage:http://www.kaspersky.com/productupdates , it is also called update.exe (when it's downloaded). :)
     
  10. FatalChaos

    FatalChaos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Posts:
    98
    does anyone know if the issue where KAV could not update if you had nvidia nforce 4 onboard firewall installed got resolved?
     
  11. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Anyone?

    Does anyone know how much the new kav pro built 388 is using as resources in MB's?

    dja2k
     
  12. King Grub

    King Grub Guest

    Hi!

    I can't notice anything different, memory-wise. If anything, it's lighter. Kavsvc.exe and kav.exe are running at 6,850 and 890 kB, respectively, at the moment, for me. After a scan, kavsvc.exe tops at around 27,000, but quickly drops back to below 10,000.
     
  13. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    It has been tracked down to the driver which is on the cd with some mainboards, use the latest Nforce driver i believe it's 6.66 and the really bad news is that just uninstalling the old driver is not enough, you have to start with a clean install. Some have suggested using http://www.drivercleaner.net/ to remove the old driver, but i have not seen anyone doing it yet, maybe you could be the first. ;) :)
     
  14. chaos16

    chaos16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,004
    i installed the new version of kav over the old one but i used the one with database would that bring me problems??
     
  15. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    No, probably not, the only difference is the size of the installer, the update.exe is half the size (therefore easier to download if on dialup).
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.