Kav Detects Trojan On Popup Test Site

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Mr2cents, Jul 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mr2cents

    Mr2cents Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Posts:
    497
    I just installed avant browser. I wanted to test it to see how well it blocked popup ads. I typed in "popup test" on yahoo search engine and found a lot of websites that gives a popup test. I click on a link. As soon as the web page opens. Kav stops a trojan. See screenshot. :rolleyes:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Ailric

    Ailric Guest

    Some popup generators are read as trojans. Have you ever been to a website and got hundreds of popups? KAV and a few others now recognize this as malware.
     
  3. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    Wonder if some basic code will make KAV popup with a trojan warning :p
    That's really weird if you ask me.

    <script type="text/javascript">
    function openWindows(num) {
    for (i=0;i<num;i++) {
    window.open('about:blank','popup'+i,'width=200,height=200');
    }
    }
    </script>

    <body onload="openWindows(20);">
     
  4. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    It's a false positive, it will be corrected. :)
     
  5. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,400
    Location:
    California - USA
    F-Secure's AV (within F-Secure AV Client Security v6) does the exact same thing!
     
  6. jg88swe

    jg88swe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Posts:
    181
    yeah maybe cuz it uses the same engine but i dont know :rolleyes:
     
  7. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,400
    Location:
    California - USA
    Actually, FSAVCS uses 4 (or 5) AV engines! ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.