KAV 7 causes big slowdown

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Victek, Feb 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    I installed KAV 7 on both Vista (32 bit) and XP SP2 and experienced a big slowdown in both OS's. I liked the detailed GUI and the comprehensive protection, but performance was so bad I had to remove it. Has anyone else had a similar experience? I would consider reinstalling KAV 7 if there's a straightforward solution to the problem.
     
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Re: KAV 7 is a big drag

    hello,
    what build did you download?
    build 321 has some issues atm.
    if you tryed build 321 then consider downloading and installing build 125 instead.
    lodore
     
  3. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    Re: KAV 7 is a big drag

    Yes, I tried build 321. Do you have a link for 125 and do you know when a new build is expected that will fix the problems with 321?
     
  4. mata7

    mata7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    635
    Location:
    Mississauga, Canada
    Re: KAV 7 is a big drag

    i recomend disable scan file at star-up
     
  5. kinwolf

    kinwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Posts:
    271
  6. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    Re: KAV 7 is a big drag

    indeed try disable start up scan.
    Other solution is try .323
     
  7. combo

    combo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Posts:
    21
    same problem :doubt:
     
  8. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    Hi,

    from my experience, such slowdowns can be caused by not performing a full scan after installation (and reboot), if KAV/KIS is installed for the first time.

    After a full scan, the iChecker and iSwift databases are established, which speeds up KAV/KIS a lot.

    iChecker and iSwift
    http://www.kaspersky.com/support/kav7/tech?qid=193239261

    Cheers
     
  9. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    Several solutions were given. Did one work?
     
  10. tisungho

    tisungho Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    148
    Yes I agree! after performing full system scan, you will feel the difference.
     
  11. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    I use to run kiss7 before my reformat , never had a slowdown & yes after a scan your see a difference...
     
  12. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    FWIW, I did perform a full scan on the Vista machine. It took almost three hours and completed successfully. Presumably the databases were created. I am dual booting Vista and XP though, and I had KAV 7 (build 321) installed in both OS's. I don't know if this creates issues? The Vista OS can see the XP partition and KAV included it in the full scan. However, XP does not see the Vista partition.
     
  13. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    yes kis or kav build 321 slow the computer
    i remove kis and download avira antivir premium + comodo firewall pro

    im waiting kis build 8 beta finish to see if its light on my computer or not
     
  14. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    At this moment v8 is far more faster than v7
     
  15. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    The databases were only created for Vista.
    KAV/KIS creates databases for each OS separately o_O

    The iChecker database is located here:
    %SystemRoot%\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Kaspersky Lab\AVP7\Data\sfdb.dat

    The iSwift database is located here:
    %SystemRoot%\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\fidbox.dat
    and a few other files in this directory (fidbox.idx, fidbox2.dat, fidbox2.idx).

    So unfortunately the full system scan has to be done twice. :ouch:

    But dual or multi OS systems don't create issues by itself with KAV/KIS.

    Cheers
     
  16. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    No, it certainly isn't and you should know better regading running what amounts to just pre-beta software ATM................they should under no circumstances be used on a pc you depend on, 8.0 is only for those interested in beta testing and who understands the implications that using beta software can bring.

    A newer build of 7.0 should be out fairly soon, whther this is going to be build 323 or another build remains to be seen. :)
     
  17. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    Sorry Don.
    Just my own experience
     
  18. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126

    were can I get kis .125 build that's what I own a license for...
     
  19. Mem

    Mem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    292
  20. dogma

    dogma Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    138
    @Victek123, I suggest that you run KAV for at least a week. Then dump it, If you don't see an improvement.
     
  21. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    Well, I've already uninstalled KAV and reinstalled Aivira PE Premium, but I will keep an eye on KAV and try it again when the performance impact is reduced. I was very impressed by wealth of features and the GUI.
     
  22. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
  23. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi,

    Slowdown, slowdown, seems to me is a fixture to any advanced AV application. Each time, with a new version the very same problem has to go thru again.

    Why on earth this repeated problem can not be addressed once for all ? even with so many top brains on staff. Just puzzles me.

    Take care.
     
  24. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California
    Re: KAV 7 is a big drag


    Sjoeii......I thought the newest version is .321. I don't see a .323 on the Kaspersky Product Updates page.
     
  25. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    Re: KAV 7 is a big drag

    Graystoke
    True. .323 is the 321 build only with two hotfixes included. It's being tested at the moment on the Kaspersky forum
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.