Kav 5 is pissing me off

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by tempnexus, May 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tempnexus

    tempnexus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Posts:
    280
    OK I installed the KAV 5 TRIAL but I don't want the thing to run in real time so I went to troubleshooting and disabled realtime protection...once I did that I can't use my IE or MYIE to access the web. It just goes to my homepage, then when I want to go to any other site it just kills the explorer. (the small kav icon in explorer is grey then it turns into a black square and next thing I know it IE is dead). If I turn on the real time scanning and try to visit any site the CPU goes 100% and the IE freezes.

    I have NOD32 and BoClean as my realtime so maybe there is a conflict there but it sure pissing me off. If I can't fix that then I am going back to 4.5 where I could use KAV as onDemand scanner without any need for this resource hungry app to run in realtime.
     
  2. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    tempnexus,

    KAV v5 is very, very new; all sorts of problems are bound to be encountered - and this does ot go for KAV only, but for fairly all new releases. In case you really want to go for it, better wait say a month; issues might have been sorted out by then.

    On a side note: the NOD32/BOClean combo surely will keep your system sound and safe ;).

    regards.

    paul
     
  3. JPM

    JPM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    I have encountered a bug myself. Today I updated the database files and KAV then said the database was corrupt and to update again. I tried updating them again but nothing changed. I uninstalled KAV 5, rebooted and made sure there were no traces of KAV on my system. Re-installed it and all was well untill I updated the database which again led to them becoming corrupt and the program will not work. Oh well back to NOD until this is resolved :)
     
  4. Delgado

    Delgado Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    131
    I have tried various Kav Anti Viruses, and find them all a pain in the ass. Technical support is limited to telling you that there is conflict, which is basic info, and the scan takes for ever. Stick with Nod 32-first class
     
  5. Arin

    Arin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    997
    Location:
    India
    KAV 5 was at beta stage few days ago. please send your bugs so that the next version is improved. its a good plan to wait for the pro version to be released. then a lot of problems could be sorted out. KAV 4.5 is better suited for the On Demand Scanning.
     
  6. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    I have tried various NOD32 Anti Viruses, and find them all a pain in the ass. Technical support is limited to ignoring your, or asking for your specs and then ignoring you, and running runtime-packed executables takes for ever. Stick with KAV-first class
     
  7. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks for the merely personal opinion. That said: to put the record straight, 99% of all NOD32 users are not experiencing support troubles in any way. Sorry to hear you seem to belong to the 1% minority.

    regards.

    paul
     
  8. Monster

    Monster Guest

    I got similiar problem also. I was running KAV 4.5 and 5.0 beta on XP of traditional chinese version. The real time protection always bursted my CPU
    usage to 100% and created a ultra huge temporary file to eat all my space on C drive ( ~ 1 GB). KAV is excellent but it is unacceptable to surffer the horrible lag everyday.
     
  9. Ga1tar

    Ga1tar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Posts:
    118
    Location:
    U.K
    In a moment of madness I installed Kav5 during which time I lost 4 yrs work, am now back with NOD32. As my mum used to say "a man must know their own limitations" never was a truer word spoken
     
  10. Nitrox

    Nitrox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Posts:
    64
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I am not too thrilled with this new version either, I have uninstalled it and went back to version 3.5 which I have been using without problems for many years.
    Here is another interesting thing I discovered about this new version; it attaches some kind of identification string to all your files.
    Here is a screen capture of a desktop wallpaper as an example.
    I could be mistaken but this only started to happen when I had version 5 installed, after I uninstalled it the files no longer had this string attached to them.
    I do not appreciate the fact of having invisible strings attached to any file, what is it used for?
    Any one come across this or is it specific to my computer only?
    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Greetings........for the first time i bought a product w/out trying it first :rolleyes:
    This was a huge mistake......kav really messed things up ...i was unable to load me desktop.......went to safe mode...ran chkdsk /f ....was able to load desktop but when i tried to reboot again desktop would not load.....stopped other scanners from loading @ startup....problem persisted....removed Kav from startup....problem persisted...unchecked Kav in system configuration utility / services and things were back to normal.......also, while Kav was loaded tested with eicar and Kav did not see it ( failed ).......OK...maybe i should have reinstalled but too unhappy...maybe i will try again when next version update appears...... Kav embeds a number of streams..maybe no big deal....will post my stream concern to Trojan Defense Suite
     
  12. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,767
    Location:
    Texas
    Last edited: May 16, 2004
  13. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
  14. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,767
    Location:
    Texas
    I tried a beta of KAV and found these entries afterwards. Having used Etrust, I was familiar with the cause.
    Only way I found to get rid of them was to format.
    They probably don't harm anything. I just don't like the fact they are there.
     
  15. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    WOW......... nor do i :mad:
     
  16. Oomingmak

    Oomingmak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    UK
    Does anyone know if this still happens in eTrust even with the 'Scan Alternate Data Strems option turned' off?
     
  17. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    TDS3 will remove hidden data streams but it is long winded as you have to do each one individualy. Hidden data streams are also used by some image files as a sort of tag.
    Another way to remove them is to copy files to a FAT or FAT32 filing system and then copy them back to NTFS :)

    For more information: http://www.diamondcs.com.au/index.php?page=archive&id=ntfs-streams
     
  18. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Strange, quoting myself :) - then again: it still stands.

    regards.

    paul
     
  19. Nitrox

    Nitrox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Posts:
    64
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Thanks Ronjor, very useful info you have provided.
    Now I am really pissed off, I will never use any new version of KAV and if they stop supporting 3.5 I will find another anti-virus to use.
    This is really bad programming on the part of KAV, they should have a way of uninstalling all that crap when you uninstall the program.
    Guess I'll be uninstalling Etrust as well.
     
  20. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    I don't believe there is a way to uninstall them via an uninstall program......someone will correct me if i am wrong. I'll try tomorrow to ran another tds scan to see if it will scan correctly and NOT post ALL streams....
     
  21. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    Last edited: May 17, 2004
  22. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for getting back Solarpowered candle.....can not use cleaner as i have removed all the Kav stuff except the streams....i will post to their site when i have time....maybe later today.
     
  23. noone

    noone Guest

    Re: Kav 5 is pissing me off / alternate data streams

    in regards to removing the ADSs that Kaspersky creates, you may want to check the Cygwin mailing list archives, I think I remember something related to removing ADS there sometime. Basically, I think the idea is to dissociate the ADS from the files, and then run chkdsk, which sees the orphaned ADS and removes it. Cygwin uses ADSs to help it translate between Unix/Windows security permissions on files it creates.
    Good luck!
     
  24. nil

    nil Guest

    Then it is not really a solution if you have e.g. 100000 files to clean from KAV streams.

    KAV should release a tool for this task! It's unbelievable ...

    I'll try it this way.

    Regards
     
  25. owziee

    owziee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Posts:
    74
    I can't understand what the problem is since it doesn't take up any extra HD space and it doesn't slow down the computer either. It isn't exactly spyware either :rolleyes:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.