KAV 5.0 release date?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Slovak, Apr 28, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Slovak

    Slovak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    515
    Location:
    Medina, Ohio
    When is KAV 5.0 english version going to be officially released?
     
  2. Madsen DK

    Madsen DK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Posts:
    324
    Location:
    Denmark
  3. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    May 1st 2004.


    tECHNODROME
     
  4. Lisa

    Lisa AV Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Posts:
    38
    Location:
    Cambridge UK
    Hi Guys,
    Uk version released:

    Version 5.0.121 Personal

    This will work with your 4.5 Personal key file.


    Regards

    Lisa

    KL UK
     
  5. Slovak

    Slovak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    515
    Location:
    Medina, Ohio
    I noticed you said UK version, does this mean there will be a US version also, or is this the official english language release?
     
  6. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    This is the official English language release ;)
     
  7. kloshar

    kloshar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    279
    Location:
    Europe, Slovenia, Bre?ice
    When I want to install it says that Kaspersky 3 is already installed on computer and I have to uninstall it first. Strange! I had Kav 3 5 months before, but I uninstalled it. What to do, please?
     
  8. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Kloshar

    I have vague memories of this happening to me when I tried the first release candidate. I used the KAV registry cleaner and then I was able to install;

    www.kasperskylab.co.uk/files/utils/remkav.zip

    Hope this works for you.

    I also used the general registry cleaner, RegSupreme, to double-check I had removed all relevant entries ( I had );

    Trial version here if you are interested; http://www.macecraft.com/brief_rs/


    Make sure all 'old' Kaspersky program folders are removed, after a reboot, then try the install. In addition, make sure that no old key files are left in the following folders;

    C:\Program Files\Common Files\ AVP Shared Files OR C:\Program Files\Com Files\KAV Shared Files
     
  9. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    722
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    What is the new realease of kaspersky like on system resources??

    Thanks :)
     
  10. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    @Tony:

    A lot of better that the previous version!!! ;)
     
  11. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK

    So far most people suggest it is as light as the previous version ( a tweaked 4.5 ) with both resources and memory imprint.

    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,10114340~mode=flat~days=9999~start=20

    Virtual Memory demands of the different AVP/KAV versions running as primary scanners on my WIN 2000/XP computers were/are;

    AVP 3.5; - 2Mb; KAV 4.5; - 13Mb and KAV 5; -15Mb


    In my experience, AVP runs with the lightest imprint and a tweaked v4.5 seems as light as the default settings with the new version 5.

    It is still very early days with the new version, as it was only released yesterday, so problems/bugs are bound to be found. But it looks promising so far.

    My advice would be to trial it on YOUR computer and see whether it is compatible with your system and the resources/memory you have available.

    Some people for example have reported much longer boot-up times with the new version but it has made no difference at all on my computers.
     
  12. VikingStorm

    VikingStorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    387
    The boot-time lag is probably the biggest factor. The start-up scan can't be disabled in Personal, and for people with "heavier" machines this adds 5-10 minutes onto the boot-time. This also means that relegating KAV5 to just on-demand scanning, means you have to wait 5-10 minutes while KAV runs the start-up scan before you can continue using on-demand. If only you could disable the start-up scan (disabling in both On-demand and RTM seems to have no effect). It looks like people that have this initial KAV lag will have to wait for Personal Pro to configure.
     
  13. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    All my computers here are very lean on start-up. I would find extended boot-up times of 5-10 minutes intolerable and switch back immediately to a more 'lightweight' primary scanner.

    I must be lucky as I have tried the new version on a number of boxes now and I am in fact typing this post on a lowly 400MHz, 192 Mb Ram, Win 2000 computer. It is running without any slowdown, except on start-up where the boot-time lag increase can be measured in seconds (by 60-90s) not minutes!!!!!!!!

    Obviously Kaspersky has aimed KAV 5 at the masses as this new version has a lot more pre-set values than v.4.5 and tweaking is severely restricted.

    As you say, those of us wanting more control of the program will have to wait until the Personal Pro version is released later in the summer.
     
  14. VikingStorm

    VikingStorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    387
    How many files is your start-up scan scanning? (I have roughly 3000+ files scanned before its done)
     
  15. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    According to the log - 1379- on this Win2000 system.
     
  16. Nitrox

    Nitrox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Posts:
    64
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I've been a loyal follower of KAV from the very beginning and have used version 3.5 for a long time until today.
    I never bothered with version 4 because of the bad things I've read about it.
    Today I installed version 5 and I like it very much, the resource consumption varies but it is not too bad.
    Like a few of the others have said, the startup scan is unreal, there should be a way to disable it. I think this is a very serious issue and should have been addressed in all those betas.
    It looks like I will be going back to my trustworthy 3.5 and wait yet again for this bug to be fixed.
    I hope they never stop support for this version 3.5, it has never let me down.
     
  17. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    I have only so called "heavy" ;) machines, but no problems at all with the start-up scan like you have.:p

    IMO KAV v5.0.121 is a big improvement, have tested it now the whole evening, and didn't found any problem (till yet).

    Before this v5 Personal I used v4 Personal Pro, and I noticed this new version is faster then the old one, and does the job smoothly.*puppy*

    Ciao,

    Smokey
     
  18. VikingStorm

    VikingStorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    387
    If only it wouldn't use the Start-Menu as a reference point in the start-up scan (I have a ton of programs over a 3 year period, and no I'm not reformatting yet :D (since it's running faster than when it was new, don't want to disturb the harmony)).
     
  19. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    I have set the Protection-level to "recommended", and none of the options disabled.

    KAV5 still runs like a rocket, or like the german people say: "meine Machine lauft genau so schnell wie Michael Schumacher".

    Have done the first full-system scan this morning too, with Scan-level "recommended", and I noticed KAV5 is faster then V4.*puppy*

    My conclusion about v5: top-notch AV like v4, but even faster and better!:)

    I'm a happpy guy!;)

    Ciao,

    Smokey
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.