KAV 5.0 Download files scan

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by It'sme, Jul 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. It'sme

    It'sme Guest

    Hello all,

    I'm new to KAV (and this board) - looking to upgrade from AVG Free and am currently trialling KAV 5.0.142. I have reviewed a lot of write-ups and have decided KAV is for me.

    The question I have relates directly to the functioning of V5.0.142 and is based on that I was accustomed to with AVG.

    I am able to select an option to 'scan individual file downloaded on completion' within my file downloader. Basically I select the option, give it the path of my virus scanner .exe and it reads in the name of the file being downloaded from a vriable $f.

    My question is:

    How do I use this option under KAV 5.0.?
    When I give the file downloader the path of the kav.exe, on completion of the download it just opens up the main KAV interface screen and does not scan the file.

    The function I am after is the same as the ability to scan single objects on demand - just like when you right-mouse on an object and select 'scan for viruses'.

    I figure the ability to do this must be there, just that I can't finf it and it doesn't appear to be documented.

    Thanks for any pointers.
     
  2. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    You can't. KAV Personal 5.0 does not have a command line executable. Personal Pro 5.o which will be coming out in a couple months will have it.

    Either right click and scan... or of there is a virus there it will be caught when you execute the file or it will be caught during a manual scan.
     
  3. It'sme

    It'sme Guest

    I thought that was the case. Thanks very much for the prompt and very precise response. From what you say, I am protected anyway.

    I will keep an eye out for Personal Pro 5.o version.
     
  4. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    YEP, and actually it probably will catch it even BEFORE you get to accepting the download file..

    Running KAV 4.5 PRO and I just did a simple test of eicar, it jumped up all over it long before I could even click on the 'Save' of the dl. :D [see pic]

    A lot of AV should do that.

    Cheers, TAS
     

    Attached Files:

  5. It'sme

    It'sme Guest

    Are there dummy infected test files - such as the infected eicar file you referred to - available for download to test my setup?

    Coould you advise where I can obtain these please.
     
  6. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    I did have a whole truckload of them specifically for testing in safe environment, but unfortunately they acidentally got deleted a few months back and I can no longer test.

    Now, as to your specific ?, no I do not know of any, but there are sure to be files somewhere.

    Tried Google "dummy test files"/"testing AV"/ etc. etc?

    TAS
     
  7. It'sme

    It'sme Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    Middle Earth, NZ
    I'll go do some Googling then. :)

    Thanks and cheers.
     
  8. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Hey It'sme..... :)

    CONGRATS on registering :cool: .. welcome to forum. :D

    TAS ;)
     
  9. steve_h

    steve_h Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    NJ, USA

    http://www.testvirus.org/

    Log in and you can recieve 25 eicar variants through email, additionally go to the eicar site

    http://www.eicar.org/anti_virus_test_file.htm

    Bottom of page and download the files here.

    HTH,

    Steve
     
  10. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    Nope. Real time scanning was taken out of KAV 5.0 Personal. They wanted to keep it fast. Not a big deal since it will be caught once opened and before anything can happen.
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2004
  11. It'sme

    It'sme Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    Middle Earth, NZ
    Thanks for the welcome TAS. !

    The knowledge that is being shared on this board absolutely brilliant and it's also official forum for Acronis Trueimage (which I threw my dollars at a while back) so I am looking forward to making a lot of progress. Hopefully I will be able to contribute in some way from my experiences also. So you see, really I had no choice but to join ;)

    To steve_h and tazdevl -
    Thanks I managed to get hold of the EICAR script and on following instructions bingo! KAV picked it up. Not real-time - as was clarified - but soon as I touched it.

    This is the sort of information that can only come from experience, so I am grateful for everybody's input.

    I have only one other matter outstanding with my evaluation of KAV - that I need to understand better - that is with real-time email checking behind WinProxy. I'll make that the subject of a seperate post.

    Thanks.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.