KAV 4.5 release version

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Karl_Menshy, Jun 14, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Karl_Menshy

    Karl_Menshy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Posts:
    135
    Has anybody tried out the release version of KAV 4.5? I would like to know your opinions, esp. if the monitor component runs faster than in v4.0 or not.

    I have been running 4.5 for some days now and am quite impressed. Although the monitor is not nearly as fast as NOD or RAV, working on a KAV protected computer seems finally possibel... :)
     
  2. wizard

    wizard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    818
    Location:
    Europe - Germany - Duesseldorf
    I've not tried the release version yet but the Monitor in the beta version was slightly faster than in 4.0. :)

    wizard
     
  3. crazykidjoe

    crazykidjoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    47
    I really like it and if configured properly, I don't see any slow down at all. c
     
  4. tahoma

    tahoma Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Posts:
    228
    been using it since the say it was released. havent noticed and difference from the beta..but the beta always worked fine for me :)
     
  5. TAG97

    TAG97 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    616
    Location:
    Connecticut USA
    I use it as a backup on both my PCs.The monitor still leaves a lot to be desired. I don't think a person should have to uncheck 80% of options to be able to run it resident.
    Ah but the next Beta will be the one I can hardly wait for! Then I will run it resident and feel well protected. :)
    Regards
    Tim
     
  6. Karl_Menshy

    Karl_Menshy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Posts:
    135
    Well, as far as I understood the final of v4.5 has been released on Jun, 9.

    Correct me if I am wrong, please...
     
  7. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    I used the 4.5 beta and this morning I installed the release version 4.5. A clean install, by the way. The only changed I made to the monitor setting is I unchecked monitoring A,D,and E drives as they do no need to be monitored. The default monitor settings are in place and I notice no slowdown.
    If you use Power Desk, you will notice a slow down in opening directories with zipped files perhaps but thats all I've found so far.
    It is a vast improvement over 4. 0X.
    I think Tim may be talking about the beta for version 5.
     
  8. TAG97

    TAG97 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    616
    Location:
    Connecticut USA
    [
    Well, as far as I understood the final of v4.5 has been released on Jun, 9.

    Correct me if I am wrong, please...
    Yes you are correct. The next Beta will hopefully be Version 5.That's the one I'm waiting for with high expectations=(Monitor:No slowdowns and Scanner4 times faster than Version 4). Then Kaspersy will rise to the top once again. :)
    Regards
    Tim
     
  9. TAG97

    TAG97 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    616
    Location:
    Connecticut USA
    Root how does RegRun run with the monitor enabled? On my PC it ran very,very slow.
    Regards
    Tim
     
  10. Karl_Menshy

    Karl_Menshy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Posts:
    135
    Well seems that they implemented a checksumming in the monitor module, so that files don't get re-scanned over and over again, but only the first time they are accessed or when new sigs are loaded...great improvement indeed...did they copy that from Sophos?
     
  11. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    Tim, since I am running SSM, Beta testing Outpost and one other program I can't mention, and since I change things on my computer so much, I finally took RegRun off my computer. It was bugging me to death with all the changes I was making.
    I hope no one thinks this is a complaint about RegRun, as it is not. It does the job it's supposed to do and the way I use my computer, I'm like a hacker attacking it. :D
    RegRun asks as it should, do I want to allow this change and that one, so I finally gave in. I could change the settings to not ask, but that would defeat the purpose of having it.
    Tim, I never noticed RegRun slowing anything down, or interacting with KAV. Can you explain a little more what is happening?
     
  12. TAG97

    TAG97 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    616
    Location:
    Connecticut USA
    Root:
    After reading so many positive results with the just released Kav4.5 I reinstalled the Monitor after uninstalling DrWeb,which I didn't do the previous times.
    After rebooting I set the monitor up using what was recommended in different posts. I right clicked on the RegRun system tray Icon (WatchDog)>click on RegRun Control Center and it took 15 seconds before the Control Center appeared, which is 13-14 seconds too long.
    Well to move this post along, :) this time unlike previous Kav versions, this only happened the first time. So I now will keep Kav as Resident and Reinstalled DrWeb Scanner only and use it as backup.
    All seems to running fine untill the next Drive Image Restore :D
    Regards
    Tim
     
  13. Graystoke

    Graystoke Guest

    Hello. I am by no means an anti-virus program expert. What I know about them is from reading comments in forums like this. I'm using NAV 2003, but I'm thinking of switching to either KAV or Mcafee just from reading about them in forums.

    Would KAV be concidered a program for someone on an expert level? Does it have a high learning curve? With NAV I basically set it and forget it. Does KAV take a lot of configuring when first installed? Would Mcafee be something better suited for me? Sorry for all the questions. Just trying to figure out what direction I want to go.

    Running XP Home.
     
  14. tahoma

    tahoma Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Posts:
    228
    im no expert either, i jsut like trying things out. this results in me ahving to format a lot more often than you wanna know. as for kav, my opinion is: kav is THE best av, no doubt about that. i guess it has a learning curve, and several of my friends, who i have recommended kav to, have ended up with unusable systems. dont know why tho. kav slows down a fair bit im afraid, but with some tweaking and configurating it will run fairly smoothly.

    i wouldnt recommedn NAV to anyone, over the years it ahs caused me more grief than KAV. as for mcafee i hear it can screw systems up too.

    so, erm, i dont know what to recommend really :)

    (yay, im pretty useless)
     
  15. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    Hi Hobnob.Obviously I prefer KAV over McAfee and that is for several reasons. One you would have a hard time finding a professional in the AV field that didn't think KAV has the best unpacking engine available and two, KAV is one of the best Trojan detectors around as well as a great AV. Also, ever since McAfee got bloated it has never ran good on a machine I have installed it on. Kav has become a large program, but it's all muscle and no fat. It does not mess with the way your machine runs and there is an uninstall program that is available that will clean out the registry entries left behind.
    It is not difficult to use KAV and you can get help with tweaking the settings here or at the Kaspersky Iceland board here.
    http://forums.useice.com/cgi-bin/ikonboard.cgi I would also go to the Iceland board and get help downloading version 4.5 as Kaspersky is still selling 4.09 as their last official release. Version 4.5 is considered a technical release but is a final version.
    I help people with Outpost Firewall problems and would be glad to help you with KAV is you decide to try it as it is easier than most things I have to help people with.
    Try it before you buy it and there's no risk. :)
     
  16. Graystoke

    Graystoke Guest

    Thanks for the offer of help Root. I appreciate that. I am going to give it some more thought for a day or two. But if I do decided to give it a try, I will deffinately call out your name here if I run into problems. :)

    Thank you again and tohoma also for replying to my question.
     
  17. Karl_Menshy

    Karl_Menshy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Posts:
    135
    One more question: Has anybody an option in the scanner settings to enable checking of Outlook express mailboxes? Have seen that on some screenshots, but don't have this particular setting on my system...I thought OE mailboxes were integrated in the general mailbox settings anyway...
     
  18. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    Hi Karl. I think for the current versions the email scanner is limited to Outlook and not OE.
    KAV will still scan your email depending on the settings in the monitor and the scanner.
    Version 5 is going to a POP3 monitor which should work with all POP3 email clients. I've been looking for them to do this for a long time.
     
  19. Karl_Menshy

    Karl_Menshy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Posts:
    135
    root: I was not talking about the mail checker. I was talking about the general on demand scanner. A screenshot on the DSL board was showing an extra option "check outlook express databases" which is missing over here...

    I know that KAV scans mail databases. I was just wondering if they added an extra option for OE...
     
  20. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    You're right Karl. I never noticed that before.
    On the scanner settings there is a box to check to scan M$ Outlook Express data bases. It's on the scanner settings and not the monitor settings. I had just glanced at the scanner settings to make sure everything was checked by default, and it was.
     
  21. controler

    controler Guest

    Lisa gave me a new extra month KEY so I had to try again to get it working on my machine and today I succedded. Everything is working great so far :D

    I will now try KAV Antihacker and see if I can get that working.
    Every time I installed it before, I lost my internet connection, Well actuly
    my network connection, since I could not even access my network card.
    Let ya know how it goes

    con
     
  22. Open Source

    Open Source Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    The Net
    :cool: So many toys so little time.
     
  23. Karl_Menshy

    Karl_Menshy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Posts:
    135
    root: I don't have this option, but again I dont' have OE installed...maybe the KAV scanner is intelligent :D
     
  24. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    Are you sure you have version 4.5?
    I don't have OE either.
     
  25. tahoma

    tahoma Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Posts:
    228
    a new build of kav 4.5 was released on the 18th june (i think). its available from ftp.kaspersky.com

    guess what ? on my system the speed of kav monitor has improved dramaticly with this release. i now can use the default settings and have kav monitor scan everything, and i notice about as little slowdown as i do with drweb's resident scanner :D :D :D

    1.2ghz athlon, 768 mb ram, xp pro sp1
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.