Kaspersky

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by waters, Nov 28, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    How long does it take Kaspersky to answer requests.I bought Internet security and have installed it a number of times on 1 computer because of trying other antivirus programes.It now wont let me, because i have exceeded the number of times.I have sent a request to support and had no reply for days.
    I only paid for this 2 months ago and now cant use it.How do they react to threats so quick if they cant answer their customers.
     
  2. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    Kaspersky is one of the best AVs/Security suites out there with the worst customer service on the planet.

    I have had the exact same thing happen to me. I usually restore my computer to a previous image using Acronis True Image every once in a while when some drivers have been updated or major software updates have come out. So not knowing that there is a cap on the activations, they blocked my key.

    When I contacted them,they got back to me after 20 days saying that I have abused the key since I activated it more than 15 times in less than 30 days. Well I was activating it on the same computer, same computer name, same hardware, same OS :rolleyes:

    They then issued me a manual activation license where you have to first enter a generic key into Kaspersky, then it would ask you to BROWSE for the activation file which Kaspersky provided you with.

    Very ugly Activation Detection method I must say.

    With Bitdefender or Eset's products, the way they detect if a license key is being abused is different as they check the computer name/ hardware. I have activated my ESS license god knows how much and never got a problem.

    The fastest method for you to do is:

    1) Contact Paypal and ask for a refund as you will not sit there waiting for ages to resolve something that shouldn't have occured in the first place

    2) if you do buy a Kaspersky product, install it, activate it, update it, reboot, take a snapshot of your HDD using Acronis True Image or similar software
     
  3. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    I have also installed Bitdefender the same number of times with no problems.I rate them very low at the moment,just seems wrong that after paying for this i cant use it.
     
  4. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    have had the same issue in the past with kaspersky. i actually prefer to have a key file imo it makes it easier for me to re-activate when i restore the system.
     
  5. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    very true. I loved the manual key file as I could re-activate as many times as I want with no fear of being blacklisted again

    they have discontinued issuing manual activation license now and they will simply fix your current key. what a shame :(
     
  6. cobrafirefly

    cobrafirefly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Posts:
    68
    The ultimate security suite would have Kaspersky's AV, Eset's GUI, Comodo's Firewall and Webroot's speed and customer service.
     
  7. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    412
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Wow yes this would be the perfect Security :thumb: maybe they read this forum and do something with it :D
     
  8. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Why don't you guys get a start up company running and license all those goodies from the AV companies?:D:thumb:
     
  9. cobrafirefly

    cobrafirefly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Posts:
    68
    Haha, I can barely run my security software, let alone try to invent my own.
     
  10. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    if i had the funds i would.....
     
  11. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    I used to pirate KIS 6.0 back in the day, I can understand their fear as Kaspersky is one of the most simple products to pirate. I know the multi-user licenses and the ones that get abused the most.
     
  12. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    kaspersky support seems good. One of my friends installed kis on their new desktop without uninstalling from laptop so got a blacklisted key. Kaspersky unblocked the key next day.
     
  13. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    Well he was lucky
     
  14. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,438
    Kaspersky?

    You don't have to even pay for it! The Kaspersky AV engine is in the free ZA Anti-Virus/Firewall suite. :isay:
     
  15. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Just if you are fine with their old engine :p
     
  16. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,215
    I bought a boxed version of KAV and its firewall in 2005 for a lot of money, I think from memory it was about 50 Euros. The keys bundled with the the CDs were blacklisted from the very first install. I asked support to do something about it, they replied to go back to the store where I first bought it. As I had left the country there was nothing I could do, as you can imagine I lost 50 Euros and they lost a customer forever.
     
  17. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I notice that the licenses for one PC for one year say 3 installs. I assume that you can uninstall and install 3 times without problems. I have never done that more than twice.
    Jerry
     
  18. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,724
    Location:
    localhost
    Not old, perfectly current to KAV enterprise line ;)
     
  19. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    Just got a reply that is no help.They explained how to download and install.How to enter the key.
    They must just have had a quick look and that was it.
    I will now have to wait until the next reply.
    I had explained that i had successfully installed it previous times and the problem.It makes me think that they have to go through loads of requests and just give them a quick glance
     
  20. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I don't know where they are getting that it's an "old" engine. It's the same as Kaspersky's current enterprise line and still quite well supported. An engine isn't "old" if it's still updated and supported regularly.

    For what it's worth, in the old days when ZA used KAV 6.x engine, it still wasn't very far behind the "real" Kaspersky so I don't see what's the big deal, especially considering that ZA also adds it's own engine to the product.
     
  21. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    does Kaspersky Pure use the most current consumer engine?
     
  22. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=2138970&postcount=36
    As a side note, and veering a bit from the OT, I'm currently trying out the ZA "free" on Windows 8 and am pleasantly surprised on how light it is. I would have liked not to install their FW but it was not possible, although I haven't yet seen any annoying pop-up in the Auto-Learn mode. I didn't install the bundled toolbar I was offered while installing, btw.
     
  23. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I'm pretty sure that if you offer a significantly inferior scan engine as an SDK when compared to your main product, you will lose clients really fast. People license an AV engine because of the relationship they have with a company, and because it's good. If it wasn't, there is no reason to continue using it. I suspect that had a lot to do with the massive exodus from Kaspersky engine of a few products some years ago. It was after this, after all that ZA received an SDK update....

    In any case, sure it may not the "latest and greatest" 2013 engine, but I'd say Kaspersky is shooting itself in the foot if they think they can continue offering an old engine with less efficacy as an SDK....so no, it's not old, they probably keep it good enough to do well in tests at least, and most likely any differences in detection are related to the cloud scanner, not the heuristics or signatures.
     
  24. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    back to the original post about Kaspersky support,I find this rather sad as Kaspersky used to have the best support of all,by far:-they even sorted out an issue for me in the past by telephone,from Russia in excellent English, on an Xmas day,but that was probably about 10yrs ago
     
  25. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    @Firecat,

    It would be interesting to know on what Baz_kasp bases his statement. He is an active moderator of Kaspersky forums and, although he claims there that he doesn't work directly for them, he seems to know a bit more about Kaspersky than us the average enthusiasts. I'm not sure if he is allowed to disclose anything further though.

    I, personally, tend to think ZA (and other K OEM partners) are somewhat using a slightly different Kaspersky engine. It's the latest SDK platform link (ZA engine v.8.3.0.13) and yes, it could be lacking of the latest K technologies regarding to detecting zero-hour attacks but, as far as malware protection is concerned, ZA is faring equally well as Kaspersky according to av-test.org ...and it's free :cool:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.