Kaspersky update interferes with internet access, anyone else ?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Fly, Feb 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    System: WIN XP SP 3 updated, trial/test version.

    I've been testing KIS 2013 on a machine. I liked it for the most part and everything went fine till today.

    After an update I could no longer use the internet !

    It appeared to be a network or DNS error. Short pages would sometimes load, long ones would not or only partially. However, after extensive troubleshooting (including restoring an image of KIS which worked fine till the update) KIS itself turned out to be the problem. Needless to say, I removed and replaced it. For an AV, killing the computer is one of the worst things it can do.

    Has anyone else experienced anything like this ?
     
  2. harlan4096

    harlan4096 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Posts:
    113
    Location:
    Almería (Spain)
  3. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Thanks, but I'm not sure if it's quite the same.

    I didn't have CPU issues.
     
  4. harlan4096

    harlan4096 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Posts:
    113
    Location:
    Almería (Spain)
  5. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,441
    Kaspersky will treat some anti-malware programs as tampering with the Windows hosts file, resulting in a false positive. Add the Windows hosts file to the Kaspersky exception list so the false positive won't be flagged in the future.
     
  6. TJP

    TJP Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    120
    I'm glad KL got the issue fixed quickly as this wasn't the first time an update has caused issues (albeit the last incident was some time ago).
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.