Kaspersky stuff infiltrated my system.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Kobra, May 20, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kobra

    Kobra Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Posts:
    129
    As a longtime NOD32 and BOClean user, I decided to test out the new KAV and KAH products.. So I followed the rules, uninstalled, cleaned up everything, then installed KAV and KAH trials.

    *BIG* mistake.. KAV seemed to remove fine, but KAH won't uninstall right, and wouldn't remove itself from add/remove... So i've spent the better part of an hour going through my reg, and basically i'm screwed. I'm having to consider a format now.

    I've scanned with a few regcleaners, and can't seem to get it all out as well. Anyone got any tips on how to purge Kaspersky *** from my system 100%? This is rediculous.. I'm *NEVER* *EVER* installing Kaspersky stuff on my machines again.

    At least they could provide a reliable uninstall with their product.. ffs
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 20, 2004
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,770
    Location:
    Texas
    If it were me, looking at a format, I would reinstall the program and immediately try to uninstall. Sometimes, this works.
    What is your operating system?
     
  3. Kobra

    Kobra Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Posts:
    129
    WindowsXP Pro SP1...

    I seemed to have removed "Most" traces of it, but I have a nagging feeling somethings still messing around in the registry.. I'm considering a system restore point or something as well..

    Amazing really, how a company releases a product with these issues.. Based on my reading, this is COMMON with this product - or anything from Kaspersky Labs apparently.
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,770
    Location:
    Texas
    Why not use system restore to go back a day or so?
     
  5. Kobra

    Kobra Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Posts:
    129
    Well, I tried, and the damn thing for some reason STILL have pieces around.. But I did find this:

    http://www.kasperskylab.co.uk/files/utils/

    In that directory, that have tools to remove KAV and KAH, so apparently they know this is an issue, which begs to question, if they know its an issue, why haven't they programmed a good install/uninstall? Laziness? If its laziness, then why would I want to trust them for anythign else?

    This pisses me off more than you know.. LOL..

    Anyway, I ran their little KAV and KAH uninstallers, and *STILL* have traces left in the registry.. It got rid of most things, but traces.. ****!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 20, 2004
  6. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Kobra,

    You are obviously upset - but we can't have bashing and insulting on this board, whatever legitimate software is concerned. No offense intended, but that's the way we run this place. Some of those remarks/words have been ***-out for that reason.

    As for:

    Could you be specific here?

    regards.

    paul
     
  7. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Smokey,

    No offense - but I've removed your post, since I've addressed this already.

    regards.

    paul
     
  8. Kobra

    Kobra Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Posts:
    129
    Sorry for my tone. One thing that totally annoys me is when a package doesn't have an adequate uninstaller!

    Anyway, after running all of their tools, I still have to go through and seek individual entries in the registry, it leaves more behind.

    Ugh. :(
     
  9. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Those things do happen on ocassion - apologies accepted :)

    I do agree. Unfortunately, far too many softwares (regardless what kind) do suffer from this. It's far from unique :rolleyes:

    For the sake of all of us: post specifics. We all can learn from it.

    Ugh :)

    regards.

    paul
     
  10. Kobra

    Kobra Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Posts:
    129
    Specifically, it leaves behind nearly everything pertaining to their systems drivers and such:

    klif
    klpf
    klpid

    Roughly 10 entries for these scattered I think.
     
  11. Arin

    Arin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    997
    Location:
    India
    sorry to hear about your problem Kobra. but i noticed that uninstallers works great on XP-SP1 systems. Ronjor has a good suggestion why don't you try it? you have nothing to lose there. one more thing about Kaspersky is that it adds a checksum to everyfile it scans and the checksum stays there even after uninstallation, probably in the alternate data stream. it surely drives me off my rocker. that checksum allows it to cut short the scanning speed after the first run.
     
  12. nil

    nil Guest

    KAV hidden NTFS streams

    Hidden NTFS streams (names: kav... ...). ;)

    I've also tried KAV and I have this problem too. How can I remove all these hidden streams from all files (are there any tools)? Uninstallation of KAV doesn't removed it.

    Regards
     
  13. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,770
    Location:
    Texas
  14. nil

    nil Guest

    Ah, thanks!
     
  15. Michel.Rohan

    Michel.Rohan Guest

    Hi,
    Excuse me for my bad english.
    Same problem 1 year later. I tried to install Kaspi. Norton and ZoneAlarm sent to the trash as the help file says : no antivirus, no firewall, no antiSpyware, no antiSpamware !
    Bad, very bad experience ! The Kaspi uninstall software forgot 162 keys in my registry (just beginning by "Kasper", I have no idea for the other keys). May be have I now the 112,000 viruses, spywares ans spamwares of the Kaspi database. Why not ? I have spent the whole night (18st of march 2005) to avoid the final solution (low level format). With an uncredible success. Now I have a desert storm in my head and intend to go to sleep (1.00 pm).
    Kaspi men were probably on Miami Beach nbr 404 for the whole week-end. Just an information : the big "sdgerq@@@gh'eh'gh" (russian translation for "problem") happened when I decided to uninstall ZoneAlarm (I think destruction of a VSDATA95.VXD, of a KLPID driver, or something like this). Do not make my errors, even if you are retired. Do not format. Once again, excuse my bad english, I learnt it on the Citizen Band.
    Michel (France).
    PS : if somebody could send me a good translation of my text, it would be very appeciated (rohan.senior@free.fr).
     
  16. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Having to uninstall both Norton and ZoneAlarm completely would stress out most computers!

    On my sytems, I have found no major problems with the uninstall of KAV 4.5 and 5, particularly if you use the specific KAV registry cleaners; http://www.ice-kav.com/tools.php.

    IMO, even the new Prototype KAV 6 Internet Security Suite uninstalls reasonably well.

    In future, for a more complete uninstall you may wish to use either Total Uninstall to monitor the install, or some sort of roll-back program such as GoBack or FirstDefence or imaging software such as Acronis.
     
  17. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I surely don't want to get into a huge flame war over this but in the last three weeks I have had Kav 5.0.147 and 5.0.227 installed and removed at least five times trying to find whick one was causing problems with my comp. Well it turns out it was not Kav antivirus it was Kav antihacker causing all of the problems. But to make the story a little shorter I will say that when I have uninstalled kav antivirus it usually only leaves a folder in program files and after deleting that there are no traces except for the ADS streams and they are no problem to remove. Actually I prefer to have Kav use the ADS streams when installed. The checksum testing it uses the ADS stream entries for is just another level of protection and they don't effect the way my comp runs at all. It installed 47.000 ads entries that only take up 27kbs, that is not much space to give up for the added security. Plus useing the ads it decreases the time needed to scan my system. Sorry I didn't mean to ramble on quite this much.

    bigc
     
  18. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Similar experience here.

    I have installed the new Prototype on a couple of test machines at work. Initially, we had problems with random freeze ups and slow Internet surfing. As soon as KAH was disabled these problems disappeared.
     
  19. clansman77

    clansman77 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    234
    Location:
    kochi,kerala,india
    and i observed that it is nearly impossible for bitdefender standard and kah to coexist.everytime bit defender updates with kah sudden reboots happened with my pc..turn kah off it updates fine..i guess kah cant tolerate the shutting down and then starting of bitdef trayicon after an update..
    otherwise its a nice program with low memory usage and outpost like rule presets..there is scope for much improvement..
     
  20. norwegian1968

    norwegian1968 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Posts:
    20
    gday there all,
    i thought i had probs... i had kas av and firewall but it all got compramised somehow, so after alot of pulling of hair and putting zonealarm on i nearly gave up.....and im not giving tds-3 a plug, but all the ADS where attached with KAVICHS ..so out with all the probs care of tds-3 , zonealarm still finding bits and peices, but now i have most of diamonds gear on trail running and , bugger me its all workin...someone else mentioned a firewall, anyway ive got to use the xmas funds for next year to keep me clean
    lol
    anyway hope it helps a bit
    no more kavichs care of tds
     
  21. twig

    twig Guest

    The Kav 2006 doesnt use hidden streams
     
  22. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Nope, but at the moment there are problems with the NTFS security descriptors being somehow affected after scanning with KIS2006. Checkdisk chokes on them.

    Moral of the story: Kaspersky Internet Security 2006 PROTOTYPE is still a prototype, so be carefull.
     
  23. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Is that why Kaspersky didn't OFFICIALLY launch the beta program for KAV 6 yet?
     
  24. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    Not the only reason, but I'm sure one of them.
     
  25. Grumble

    Grumble Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Posts:
    185
    Location:
    the sunshine state
    Question for KAV users:

    GData 2005 AVK has a Kaspersky Labs file AVPBASE.DLL described as AVP Engine (DLL), File Version 6.0.169.6390, Product Version 6.0.169.0

    Does this mean it has the KAV 6 engine?? 5? 4.5?

    The scanner does not introduce ADS streams and I'm just curious as to how to determine which engine it uses.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.