Kaspersky Problem-Unhandled Exception

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by RBremen, Mar 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RBremen

    RBremen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    I tried installing KAV on a fresh XP Pro install. There are no other apps on the OS, only hardware drivers (ATI Catalyst) and some of the XP Security fixes. I get Unhandled Exception every single time I boot as soon as the desktop comes up. Sometimes I can get to the KAV menu, other times I can't. From what I've seen so far it is stalling on the ATI Catalyst software and then again on a file in the wmplayer folder. What else I don't know as it stops at this point and I'm tired of deleting files it sticks on without knowing why. Any ideas are greatly appreciated. It seems like a known issue in the KAV forums but no answer has been posted that I can find. I have emailed KAV support.

    Thanks,

    R Bremen
     
  2. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    You could try to download only the latest barebones display-driver from ATI, uninstall the catalyst software, install the display-driver and see if this helps as a way to try and pinpoint if it 's the catalyst software that's causing the Unhandled Exception's. :)
     
  3. Rob E

    Rob E Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    16
    FWIW, I can't comment any ATI issues, only that my system uses an older Radeon 9600 card. Just wanted to mention that I also experienced numerous "Unhandled Exception" errors after installing and attempting to use KAV Personal Pro. I gave up on it BUT... then installed KAV Personal (v. 5.0.227) and it ran beautifully, with no issues or conflicts. I'd highly recommend you try it. GL.
     
  4. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Good thing I purchased NVIDIA GeForce FX 5900...driver quality :D
     
  5. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    only thing is you have to put up with an inferior card!(lol)
     
  6. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Inferior in Performance. Feature-wise it is superior than even Radeon X800 (slightly).

    So, NVIDIA = Software quality
    ATI = Hardware quality

    Besides, if GeForce FX code is used (i.e. Cg compiler/Pixel Shader 2.0A = optimised code) it will perform better than competing Radeons.

    And it still pwnz any Radeon 9700s...I think. Who cares, I get playable framerates and good quality in my games, thats all I care.

    Firecat
     
  7. RBremen

    RBremen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    Well I'm in the process of another format and reinstall. I'll let you know if that makes a difference. I don't understand why it would hang on a .cab file and then an html file. I figure it would give a warning or something and then complete the scan. Thanks for everyones help though, it's appreciated.

    Well...fresh install same error. Can't even update the database now. This a fresh install on a non overclocked install. Not even XP updates have been installed. Is it possible to use my overpriced key to install the personal (non pro edition)? Is the pro just not that ready for prime time? I don't hear issues about just the personal edition only the pro version.... Frustrating to say the least.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2005
  8. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Your question has been answered at http://forums.useice.com/cgi-bin/ikonboard.cgi?;act=ST;f=1;t=2032.
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2005
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.