Kaspersky Licence Install

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by buckshee, Aug 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. buckshee

    buckshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Posts:
    134
    A local store (FutureShop - owned by BestBuy) is offering a boxed Kaspersky 2010 (3 users) for Can$30
    However, I still have 7 months left on my existing AV. Can I buy it now, keep it for 7 months, install it and register and get 1 year use from installation date ?
    Obviously Kasoersky won't know when I bought it but as 2011 will have been out for 7 months before I register 2010 I didn't know if that would be an issue
     
  2. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    815
    You can use a 2010 licence with KIS/KAV 2011.
     
  3. Rampastein

    Rampastein Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Posts:
    290
    I'm not sure, but I think you can do this with boxed versions- someone else has to confirm though (I know that's not possible with licenses bought online).
     
  4. buckshee

    buckshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Posts:
    134
    King Grub - That's not the question I asked - I wanted to know if I can wait 7 months to install and register KAS 2010 and still get 1 years use even though 2011 is out
     
  5. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    You can do either install 2010 or install 2011 using the same key. What you need to establish if the key will be valid in 7 months time. It most probably will be but maybe best check with Kaspersky customer services
     
  6. 0strodamus

    0strodamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,051
    Location:
    United Surveillance States
    My experience doesn't exactly mirror yours because I didn't have an existing license, but I bought a boxed version of KAV2009 late last year and it sat on a shelf until I registered it last month. I didn't have any problems using the license code with either KAV2010 or KAV2011 - it gave me the full 365 days from the day I activated it.
     
  7. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,565
    Location:
    USA
    The license countdown start from first activation. If it is 3 user they all start with the activation of the first machine. If you bought a 2010 license now it shouldn't have any problems activating now or several months down the road. If you tried to activate a version 6 or 7 license at this point you may have issues, but a recent one is no problem.
     
  8. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411

    i agree coz my friend make it and its working
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.