Kaspersky Licence Install

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by buckshee, Aug 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. buckshee

    buckshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Posts:
    134
    A local store (FutureShop - owned by BestBuy) is offering a boxed Kaspersky 2010 (3 users) for Can$30
    However, I still have 7 months left on my existing AV. Can I buy it now, keep it for 7 months, install it and register and get 1 year use from installation date ?
    Obviously Kasoersky won't know when I bought it but as 2011 will have been out for 7 months before I register 2010 I didn't know if that would be an issue
     
  2. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    You can use a 2010 licence with KIS/KAV 2011.
     
  3. Rampastein

    Rampastein Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Posts:
    290
    I'm not sure, but I think you can do this with boxed versions- someone else has to confirm though (I know that's not possible with licenses bought online).
     
  4. buckshee

    buckshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Posts:
    134
    King Grub - That's not the question I asked - I wanted to know if I can wait 7 months to install and register KAS 2010 and still get 1 years use even though 2011 is out
     
  5. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    You can do either install 2010 or install 2011 using the same key. What you need to establish if the key will be valid in 7 months time. It most probably will be but maybe best check with Kaspersky customer services
     
  6. 0strodamus

    0strodamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    United Surveillance States
    My experience doesn't exactly mirror yours because I didn't have an existing license, but I bought a boxed version of KAV2009 late last year and it sat on a shelf until I registered it last month. I didn't have any problems using the license code with either KAV2010 or KAV2011 - it gave me the full 365 days from the day I activated it.
     
  7. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,049
    Location:
    USA
    The license countdown start from first activation. If it is 3 user they all start with the activation of the first machine. If you bought a 2010 license now it shouldn't have any problems activating now or several months down the road. If you tried to activate a version 6 or 7 license at this point you may have issues, but a recent one is no problem.
     
  8. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411

    i agree coz my friend make it and its working
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.