Kaspersky is excellent.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Osaban, Jan 19, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stephentony

    stephentony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    USA
    I agree, gery. Top notch firewall. :thumb:
     
  2. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,862
    Where can I get patch d? I installed a fresh copy a few nights ago but after it updated, it said I was on c. Also, I thought it was slow and heavy, so had to ditch it. :doubt:
     
  3. Houley456

    Houley456 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    186
    Same situation...Waiting for the answer...
     
  4. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,862
    If you find out please let me know. Installed another product and my laptop would not shut down the pc properly. So on the hunt.
     
  5. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,597
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    According to Kaspersky, "Patch D is automatically installed with the database update for Kaspersky Internet Security 14.0.0.4651"...
    https://support.kaspersky.com/10235#block0
    If it is not updated as described in the above link, I would contact Kaspersky Support.
     
  6. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,363
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    I'm not about to switch my AV, but I can see that there is more to great detection when installing an AV. The same could be said about Bitdefender, it seems to work flawlessly in some computers, but having problems with others. The bottom line is testing for 30 days is a must, no general test will tell you if a particular AV is the best choice for your own environment.
     
  7. moxxey

    moxxey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Just depends on what you have installed. You'd be surprised what people have running on their machine, often without them knowing. All sorts of browser security add-ons, all doing the same thing - checking websites for malware, downloaded files and so on.

    People then install an aggressive security suite such as Bitdefender Total Security - which is set for maximum security - then wonder why their machine grinds to a crawl. They think they should leave it set to maximum security as they don't want to turn off any features, as "they've paid for them". They don't turn off their existing add-ons either, thus they blame Bitdefender.

    Bitdefender Total Security can also clash with system tuning tools which are configured to auto-clean your computer in the background. If you leave them to auto-clean, this slows your machine slightly and Bitdefender attempts to check the file action, also, at the same time.
     
  8. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,558
    Location:
    Outer space
    Updating the databases and rebooting normally installs the patches.
     
  9. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,624
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, I have installed many copies in the last couple of weeks and they all updated but you must reboot before it says "d". You also have to give it some time to settle in. After you have opened your regular programs once and run a scan it should speed it up.
     
  10. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Morning! Using Kaspersky I.S.2014...one note of concern...I know it's been mentioned by users...it's a little slow off the mark...in booting up...so as a precaution...I added HMP...too initiate a timely boot-up scan. Other than that I'm so far satisfied with the new Version. Sincerely...Securon
     
  11. kerykeion

    kerykeion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Posts:
    281
    Location:
    Philippines
    Good for you Securon.

    I tried Kaspersky AV 2014 two weeks ago and my PC felt a little sluggish (at least compared to Windows Defender and ESET NOD32). But I do agree that protection is top-notch.
     
  12. escalibur

    escalibur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Posts:
    118
    Obviously 'indian licence' can be activated in Europe or US by using VPN so does anyone know that is the lowest price atm for (European user) Kaspersky AV 2014 1 PC 1 year?

    Thanks.
     
  13. moxxey

    moxxey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Just to warn you though, if Kaspersky suspects you've done that, or you contact their tech support with your code and proper IP, they do and will block the code!

    Kaspersky aren't stupid, they don't allow codes from another territory these days, so make sure you don't contact their support with your code, if you do. Taking a big risk activating a cheap Kaspersky code from India, using a VPN, knowing Kaspersky.

    I found this KAV 1-PC option for £14.99: http://store.downloadcrew.co.uk/p28174-kaspersky_anti-virus_2014_1-pc
     
  14. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,051
    Obviously announcing your intentions on this public web forum was not the best idea.
     
  15. escalibur

    escalibur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Posts:
    118
    Nah too much of hassle plus the price is a bit high for me. I think I will wait for some killer deal or longer trial license.
     
  16. moxxey

    moxxey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    £14.99 a year is too much for a security suite? Two packets of cigarettes are more expensive.

    I hope you realise how much time, effort and finances go in to providing program and anti-virus updates, from Kaspersky, each day?

    I never knew that someone regarded a £14.99/yearly expense as too expensive. I spend more on a bottle of wine!
     
  17. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    :thumb: true :D
     
  18. AVusah

    AVusah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Posts:
    274
    That's true. I remember getting BSODs, slowdowns, and various other issues with KAV 5.0, 6.0, 7.0, 2009, and 2010. The detection was excellent, but there were always problems. I've tried the most recent versions, but it hasn't changed in this regard, even though I've gone through several different PCs in the meanwhile.
    KAV and BD have always been hit and miss AVs in my experience.
     
  19. escalibur

    escalibur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Posts:
    118

    Yes it's too much for me because free alternatives aren't that bad considered they are totally free.

    I don't need any suites just an AV would be fine. I don't smoke so couldn't care less about cigarettes' prices and it's not a matter is it cheaper than bottle of wine or not. Let's consider AVs as AVs and wine as wine regardless of their prices.

    I don't think that it would be impossible to have free version with just basic AV without any additional protections like 'safe pay', phishing, e-mail etc. Maybe one day...
     
  20. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    If you pay for the AV then you'll be able to use it a year, if you pay for the bottle of wine I figure it's empty after the weekend or maybe even the same night depending on how thirsty you are. :D
     
  21. AVusah

    AVusah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Posts:
    274
    They did offer a free AOL-sponsored version once upon a time:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AOL_Active_Virus_Shield

    And there's also a couple of other free AVs that use the Kaspersky engine, like ZoneAlarm and the Chinese Baidu Shadu.

    I agree that, given the free alternatives that are available, commercial security software is overpriced. It's absurd we have to pay for security in the first place.
     
  22. markcc

    markcc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    185
    Location:
    Michigan, usa
    Why would you expect a company to produce a product for free? Would you go to work for free? Would you produce a good or service & maintain it for free?
     
  23. AVusah

    AVusah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Posts:
    274
    Because why would I want to pay an annual fee for Kaspersky antivirus when I can get the same degree of protection from one of the many free alternatives available?

    Traditional business models just don't work anymore, at least for these kinds of products. The internet has changed everything. It's the one area of our economic system where consumers have a little power over producers.
     
  24. markcc

    markcc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    185
    Location:
    Michigan, usa
    With that line of thought we will not have anyone making products. Why would they? Would you make a product and not be paid? If so I have lots of jobs for you
     
  25. AVusah

    AVusah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Posts:
    274
    There are alternative ways of making money, otherwise every single business would go bankrupt.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.