Kaspersky AV 6.0 acting as server, listening?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by R2D2, Aug 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. R2D2

    R2D2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Posts:
    70
    Location:
    Tatooine
    I recently installed KAV 6.0 which works great using very low resources on my Win98SE but was concerned about what Zone Alarm and DiamondCS Port Explorer detected. Upon boot up, ZA prompts if I want to have Kaspersky to act as a server and another prompt for access to the internet which I allowed both. Then, I opened up Port Explorer and there are two processes of the same filename (associated with KAV) listening in: avp.exe (two of them) one of them was listening from Russia and at another instance from Holland. Is this normal for Kaspersky? Should I be concerned about this?
     
  2. unhappy_viewer

    unhappy_viewer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    259
    Just deny avp.exe server rights. That won't affect how KAV works since KAV never needed to accept connections to begin with. This problem of KAV asking for server rights was carried from KAV 5 to 6 (don't know if earlier versions had the same thing) and I still am puzzled as to why the Kaspersky developers have not rectified this.
     
  3. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    There is nothing to worry about, it's the servers in Russia & Holland to update the signatures (& the program), you can also see connections to update servers in the US, China and Japan, if you haven't set your region or if the servers nearest to you are not responding quick enough, it will then jump to another region to update there instead.:)
     
  4. unhappy_viewer

    unhappy_viewer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    259
    Yes but server rights are not required. Giving programs unnecessary server rights always allows for a chance of something wrong to happen.
     
  5. R2D2

    R2D2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Posts:
    70
    Location:
    Tatooine
    Thanks for all that info! I feel better now.
    Thought Russia or Holland was trying to invade me.:D
     
  6. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    Allowing ANY program to do ANYTHING can allways allow a chance for something to go wrong,the only way to ensure 100% everything stays ok is to leave it unplugged in a corner away from sunlight
     
  7. unhappy_viewer

    unhappy_viewer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    259
    Thats provided you wish to isolate yourself from the cyber world. Which is fine by me :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.