Kaspersky Antivirus 5.0 serious incompatibility

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by joter, Feb 19, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. joter

    joter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Posts:
    163
    Location:
    Greece
    I have tried, with no luck, to install the trial of the latest version of Kaspersky Antivirus 5.0 pro.
    My system freezes when loading Kaspersky and nothing moves.
    Something like that happens also when I tried to install the latest F-secure that has similar engine, I think.
    No problems with 4.5 engine, that Visnetic Antivirus has.

    Installed
    WindowsXP pro SP2
    nod32 (disabled)
    kerio personal firewall 4.2

    Thanks in advance for your help.
     
  2. GYL

    GYL Guest

    never keep 2 av ,with kaspersky,even disabled.you risk reinstall!!!
     
  3. PnP

    PnP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Posts:
    194
    Location:
    Italy
    Yes I have the same problem...

    Only 1 antivirus work or kav or nod32... Specially the new version 5.020 pro..
     
  4. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Its a known thing that KAV 5 will have problems with other AVs running resident. I suggest you ask a pro like Blackcat for advice on the issue.
     
  5. joter

    joter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Posts:
    163
    Location:
    Greece
    Thank you.
    Now I have to choose.
     
  6. joter

    joter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Posts:
    163
    Location:
    Greece
    Unfortunately I have uninstalled NOD32, trying to install kaspersky and ...the same problems.
    The only difference was that I was be able once to open the main interface.
    I installed then F-Secure trial and I had no problems, but sorry I don't like the minimum settings you can customise for.

    Any recommendations?
     
  7. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    I have also found KAV 5 to be a lot more sensitive to other installed AV's on my systems. KAV 4.5, which is still available for download, is much easier to setup as a back-up scanner than the latest version.

    On my systems it was possible to install 2 AV's but only if KAV 5 was installed first. This was only for a short period of time so I cannot judge any long-term effects on the stability of my computers. Overall, I now prefer to have only one AV installed at any one time.

    If you want to give KAV a fair test, uninstall NOD and then apply some tweaks to the default settings of KAV before trying to run on your computer;http://www.ice-kav.com/kavtun.php.

    1. The startup scan.
    2. The automatic updater.
    3. The network protection module.

    may all need adjusting/tweaking/disabling. In particular, during the install of KAV 5 do not accept "the recommended settings" option in the first Window. Now deselect the network protection settings. This IDS is known to conflict with software firewalls on rebooting your computer.

    This Intrusion Detection System (IDS) is not recommended by Kaspersky if you have a software firewall already installed on your computer; and it can also be disabled after you have installed KAV 5;http://www.kaspersky.com/faq?qid=156627258

    A KAV registry cleaner is also available for both version 4.5 and 5; http://www.ice-kav.com/tools.php

    Then you can make a choice between NOD and KAV ;)
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2005
  8. joter

    joter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Posts:
    163
    Location:
    Greece
    Thank you, Blackcat

    After using the KAV remove tools, Kaspersky 5.0.18 works with no problems.
    But where are "network protection settings" not to select and also the IDS. Is out there a newer version of KAV with these settings?

    Can you also mention the differences between KAV Personal Pro 5.0 and KAV for workstation? Does the second has corporate settings, like passsword protection or remote administration?

    Thanks a lot.
     
  9. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Network protection settings and IDS (Intrusion detection system) are parts of KAV included in the new release 5.0.227. Its like a mini-firewall, it blocks hackers. However, if you already have a firewall its not recommended to use the IDS.

    KAV Personal 5.0.227 is out. Personal Pro is still at 5.0.18 I think.
     
  10. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    No, the IDS/Network protection settings is only available in Personal 5.0.227 and as Firecat says is not needed/recommended if you use a firewall.

    The latest version of Pro is 5.0.20 available here (Pro trial) . :)
     
  11. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Glad to hear.
    These settings are found in KAV Personal, which is the only version I use. Therefore, I presume that the IDS protection is absent in the Pro version? Maybe a KAV Pro user can confirm this? (Thanks, Don)
    Hopefully, BlueZanetti will come along soon as he is the KAV Worstation expert here. In the meantime here is some information on the recent KAV Workstation version;

    http://forums.useice.com/cgi-bin/ikonboard.cgi?;act=ST;f=1;t=1793;hl=kav 5 workstation
    http://www.broadbandreports.com/forum/remark,9904987~mode=flat
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=64035&highlight=KAV Workstation

    And for everything Kaspersky, including the kitchen sink, try here; http://www.iggyz.com/book/kav.html and one of their main forum sites (the best) is here; http://forums.useice.com/cgi-bin/ikonboard.cgi
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2005
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.