Kaspersky Antihaker Alert

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by aigle, May 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I am getting this message and don,t know what does it mean and what should I do. As I know windows explorer should not contact to internet but I am not sure.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    You are probably using the Windows search function when this alert occurs. Windows Explorer does not need internet access.
     
  3. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    So what does this alert mean?
     
  4. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,617
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi Aigle,

    Which version of KIS are you using, the technical release or the beta
    version 6.0.1.311?

    If you are using the beta version, there are still lots of bugs.:)
     
  5. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Kaspersky Personal Security suite- trial
     
  6. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    It means that "Explorer" is attempting to make an outbound connection to sa.windows.com (microsoft), the alert is telling you this, and your firewall wants to know if you want to allow this connection or not.
    If you select "o.k." in the "create rule window" as it is being shown in your post, this will give "Explorer" a ruleset, the same as your browser (Iexplorer, firefox etc), and would mean that "Explorer" would be able to connect to microsoft any time it wanted to while you had an open connection to the internet.
    As already mentioned, explorer does make this connection attempt when you start a search of your computer, it is not required, but in the end, it is up to you if want to allow, or block this connection.
     
  7. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    It's May now... I wonder when the bugs will be gone in KIS... Otherwise they can better name it a 2007 version...
     
  8. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thansk. I was confused due to sa.windows.com.
    Thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.