Kaspersky Anti Virus ..plus WSA?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ttomm1946, Apr 3, 2015.

  1. ttomm1946

    ttomm1946 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Posts:
    111
    Kaspersky anti virus is only 7.99 on New egg..*I have Secure Anywhere beta 8.0.8.77

    I hate to let a deal like 7.99 slide...Can they get along ok?
     
  2. Frank the Perv

    Frank the Perv Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    882
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    It would be interesting to hear how that goes.

    Kaspersky (to me) is the unmitigated grand champion of detection for the last decade.

    But.... when I tried to use it, it did not get along with much. There is so much that Kaspersky does... it does not seem to have tolerance for other things.

    But that was two years ago.

    Make sure you are backed up (not you personally, but your computer).


    -Frank
     
  3. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    If you go to the Kaspersky forums, they would advice against using ANY other security software even on demand as their background running services may interfere with the functionality of the AV. I certainly wouldn't use WSA (which is another full fledged AV) alongside Kaspersky. Kasperky is so heavy on its own anyway running any other realtime scanner along with it would really kill your performance. If I were in your shoes, I'd use Kaspersky perhaps and donate WSA to a family member or the opposite.
     
  4. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    665
    WSA can be used with pretty much every AV.
     
  5. ttomm1946

    ttomm1946 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Posts:
    111
    Good advice so far
     
  6. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Perfect statement.. It just doesn't seem to have 'tolerance'..

    I recently pulled Kaspersky entirely out from a medium size corporation. They were having 'issues' with some of their in-house software, legacy stuff, and proprietary databases we eventually traced to Kaspersky. Once I nailed it, it was like a giant weight off of the company. Nobody for 3-4 years pinned down the issues, but my first step was to walk up to a machine, remove Kaspersky, and then run through their solutions - they all worked perfectly. That was one of our last clients running Kaspersky Enterprise products.

    I think it's still the same Frank.. It's flaky... (looks at his 10 license kaspersky pack languishing on a USB stick - never to see the light of day)
     
  7. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    1,171
    remember the day when they were tagging every file with a stream? i think it was to make scannuing faster after the first run.
     
  8. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Alternate Data Streams, what a terrible idea.

    Do they still use these? I still see settings for iStreams and such in the product.
     
  9. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    1,171
    May

    I don't know, I havent used Kav in some years. I don't test as much as I used to. I just try to keep it simple now days and yes they got alot of static when that was found out they were using ADS. There was alot of disscussion her at wilders at that time about it.
     
  10. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,955
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Though I am no longer using Kaspersky, because for some inexplicable reason after a Windows and KIS update, KIS 2015 would not let me access the server of an online game I play after trying every conceivable option, I ran KIS 2015 with WSA for almost a year with no issues I could discern.

    I have since become a purist and only use One Security Suite + Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit. I had always had some lingering concern that no matter the claim of compatibility and no apparent issues I could see, that somehow using two AVs was neither necessary nor advisable. Choose well.

    One thing--try a demo of KAV first. I used KIS for years and at one point this year I tried KIS Multi-Device. It crippled my PC. I have no idea why, but it did and I had been using Kaspersky for years.
     
  11. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Afternoon! Used KIS in the past and then KIS..it Goodbye after being subjected to the Prima Donna Complex; when I went to place it on my system. I now toast any and all apps when I'm told by any Vendor to remove all existing apps on my system. This to me smacks of Poor Engineering. Anyhow currently using Eset SS 8...in tandem with WSA Security Plus and Appguard...no problem whatsoever...and Eset on my system is running like the old Eset V4...extremely pleased with the latest configuration. Try it you'll like it...with half the headaches! Sincerely...Securon
     
  12. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    I would not run anything else with KIS, but if you enable Trusted Applications Mode, I would not think it necessary.
     
  13. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Agree with you Jack. I was running KIS and WSA a few years ago and it was not a nice companionship lol. KIS by itself is enough imho.
     
  14. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,913
    I see no reason to run KIS and WSA together.
     
  15. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    Ditto! Pure overkill
     
  16. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,913
    Mortal overkill. :)
     
  17. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    haha, good one br0 :D
     
  18. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I would say WSA over KAV but I'm partial!

    TH
     
  19. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    Ditto, I'd take WSA over KIS/KAV any time of the day as Kaspersky is the heaviest security solution of all from my testing despite what the testing/reviews say that's its light. it's a dinosaur even on my Alienware 18 best

    WSA FTW
     
  20. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,955
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
  21. Rakanisheu

    Rakanisheu Guest

    You shouldn't have any issue running WSA alongside Kaspersky. If you do please let us know and we can take a look at the logs.
     
Loading...