Kaspersky and Windows 8 shutdown problems

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Nightwalker, May 20, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    784
    I bought a copy of Kaspersky AV in a sale off and I am pretty surprised to see that it runs very fast in my machine , but I am experiencing some problems ...

    Sometimes my Windows 8 machine simple doesnt shutdown and I am almost sure that is Kaspersky's fault.

    On clicking shutdown the windows displays shutting down and monitor goes black but even after 1 hour it doesn't turn off , anyone has seen this?

    Pardon me for my some gramma errors , I am not a native english speaker and I am in a hurry ...
     
  2. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
  3. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    784
  4. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    I must apologise for that.
    There is a huge thread about this issue on the kaspersky forum.
    Use the search function.

    Seems a common issue.
     
  5. nine9s

    nine9s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Posts:
    265
    Location:
    USA
    I bought Kaspersky IS for $12.99 on NewEgg a few weeks ago (canceled the order a few hours later.)

    This was on Windows 7 x64:

    After buying it, I downloaded and installed a trial to use for 30-days with plans to use the key I got in the ordered product. It seemed okay, with just first shut down hanging for 15 seconds or so. Repeated shutdowns after that were fine (I shutdown about 3-4 more times just to test it.)

    Everything else seemed fine and I set different options I wanted, did updates, and scans etc. I really liked it and thought I got a great deal.

    Then one Final thing I did was check Event Viewer. In the Event Viewer log, I found that every time my shut-down shutdown, even the 3 to 4 fast ones, there were like 2 or 3 memory leak and registry errors related to Kaspersky programs. I have troubled shooted my system down to where I get no Event Errors except DNS lookup errors a few times a week, so it concerned me that that was and I canceled my order because I figured if Kaspersky would not shut-down properly, which those errors indicated, it will possibly get corrupted over time which in my opinion would be a system problem in the making with how much control it takes over your system.

    While you are on Windows 8, it is probably the same problem - Kaspersky won't release resources and shut down properly. Check your Event Viewer and see if it causes similar errors.
     
  6. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    784


    Thanks guys , I checked Event Viewer and it is indeed a Kaspersky problem :(

    As you can see :

    DETALHE -
    16 user registry handles leaked from \Registry\User\S-1-5-21-3246459503-1538701250-1417556959-1000:
    Process 1632 (\Device\HarddiskVolume2\Program Files (x86)\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2013\avp.exe) has opened key \REGISTRY\USER\S-1-5-21-3246459503-1538701250-1417556959-1000
    Process 1632 (\Device\HarddiskVolume2\Program Files (x86)\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2013\avp.exe) has opened key \REGISTRY\USER\S-1-5-21-3246459503-1538701250-1417556959-1000
    Process 1632 (\Device\HarddiskVolume2\Program Files (x86)\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2013\avp.exe) has opened key \REGISTRY\USER\S-1-5-21-3246459503-1538701250-1417556959-1000
    Process 1632 (\Device\HarddiskVolume2\Program Files (x86)\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2013\avp.exe) has opened key \REGISTRY\USER\S-1-5-21-3246459503-1538701250-1417556959-1000

    ...
     
  7. nine9s

    nine9s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Posts:
    265
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah that is kind of stuff I saw.

    Might not be a problem (Event Viewer logs anything that is not correctly done) but I did not feel like researching it, and it seems like it could corrupt something over time because Kaspersky is perhaps not saving data/settings correctly that it might have changed during a session.

    Anyone know if the above quoted errors pose a problem?
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2013
  8. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,729
    Location:
    localhost
    No, they don't. It's not an error, just a notification. No impact whatsoever :)
     
  9. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    784
    But my system doesnt shutdown when Kaspersky is active , and this notification appears when I try to shutdown ...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.