Kaspersky and startup delay?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by lrtrees, Apr 7, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lrtrees

    lrtrees Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Posts:
    31
    I am guessing this question might have been asked before, but I cannot seem to find the answer. So here goes. I am using Kaspersky 5.0 personal on a machine running XP sp2. When I turn my computer on in the morning, it boots into windows just fine, but takes a period of time before I can do anything. I can see from the light on my computer that the hdd is doing something and if I bring up task manager I can see kacsvc.exe doing something. Here is my question. What is it doing and can I alter what it is doing? Or do I just want to let it do its thing? I was using mcafee enterprise 8.0i prior to this and it was much faster.

    Anyway, thanks for your help.
    Lon
     
  2. tahoma

    tahoma Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Posts:
    228
  3. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    As tahoma says, it's carrying out its infamous startup scan.

    Tweaks to improve the performance of KAV 5 are HERE.

    You may also find that you do not need to enable IDS protection if you have a firewall in place.
     
  4. mnosteele

    mnosteele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    181
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA USA
    It's Kaspersky's start up scan, you can easily disable it with the registry file:

    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\KasperskyLab\Components\7]
    "#RunStartup"=dword:00000000

    Just make that a .reg file and merge it into your registry.

    :cool:
     
  5. lrtrees

    lrtrees Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Posts:
    31
    Thanks for the response guy's. I will give this a try. I am not sure I want to put up with it if these suggestions do not work. Not sure why the option to disable this is not included in the GUI.

    Lon
     
  6. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    If you will pm me I will give send you the kav 5 reg hack approved by kav support to stop the start up scan. mine used to do the same thing until I installed this little 4 or 5 kb file.

    bigc
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2005
  7. mnosteele

    mnosteele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    181
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA USA
    That's what I already posted.

    o_O
     
  8. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    yours is a manual fix this one I have is automated for those that are not comfortable going in the registry and making changes. The fix I have takes about one second to install at 4kb. And it works great.

    bigc
     
  9. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Either take up bigc's offer or simply download the zipped file in the Tweaks link I posted above.

    Unzip and to apply the Startup Scan registry hack double click the file and choose 'Yes' when prompted. Easy.
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.