Kaspersky and Picasa issues

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by acr1965, Nov 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Is anyone using Picasa with Kaspersky av running too? I keep getting some trojan warning (and the loud pig sqeal) whenever I try to download Picasa. I checked the Kaspersky site but it looks like this has been an issue for a while, with no real answers either.

    Why does Kaspersky detect Picasa as a trojan upon install? And will there be continuing issues between the two after install if Picasa? Does Picasa phone home regularly if you disable auto update (if that can be done)?

    thanks
     
  2. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Don't know if this counts but I am running KIS7 and Picasa and I have absolutely no issues. Both seem to co-exist nicely.
     
  3. dah145

    dah145 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Posts:
    262
    Location:
    n/a
    You can post at the KAV forums for help: http://forum.kaspersky.com/
     
  4. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    What part of Kaspersky is popping up?

    Please post a screenshot.
     
  5. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    I just downloaded it now from here: http://picasa.google.com/
    ... nothing detected... even after performing an update. If you didn't download it from the link above, let kaspersky block/delete your picasa and download it from the official link.

    May have been injected with malware if its downloaded from P2P or "shady" website
     
  6. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Actually I made a typo in my first post. Kaspersky does not set off an alarm when I download but when I try to install Picasa.
     
  7. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    Why are you so sure it is asigned as a trojan than?
     
  8. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    Did you download it from the official website?... you shouldn't get any pig-squeels... I thought you might only get ProactiveDefense and Firewall alerts.

    Please post a screenshot of it.
     
  9. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Oh it was definitely a pig squeal. Believe me, I was raised on a farm. The Kaspersky site forum said it does that because Picasa tries to add itself to the start menu. I don't think I am going to try to download it again.
     
  10. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    Picasa is pretty safe although it is a Google product.
    But when the KIS pig is screaming there always is a pop up following
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.