Kaspersky and firefox

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by the insider, Jun 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. the insider

    the insider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Posts:
    151
    Hi,

    Can anyone tell me how I can activate the automatic screening of files I download with firefox? I use a download extension in firefox (name I forgot) which allows me to scan EVERY file I download. With NOD32 I was able to identify the file in the direcory in order to start the scan automatically after the download was terminated. In the Kaspersky directory I can't find any such file which has to be selected in order to perform such a scan.
    o_O
     
  2. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Try selecting the avp32.exe file in the KAV directory and if that does not work, try putting the parameters /S "%s" along with the avp32.exe file. :)
     
  3. the insider

    the insider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Posts:
    151
    thx : i'll try this tonight ! BTW do you like the new Kaspersky Internet Security 6 ? It found 2 ZLOB trojans and apparently NOD didn't ....
     
  4. Stan999

    Stan999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Posts:
    566
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX USA
  5. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Although I do like KAV and the suite, it is far too costly for me, since I'm a student. If Kaspersky becomes more relaxing on pricing, I may buy it, or else I'll need to settle for clones. :doubt:

    But, at the moment I'm quite happy with NOD32 and BitDefender. :)

    Edit: NOD32 does detect all the Zlobs, and I noticed that Dr.Web and BitDefender are also adding these Zlobs, though the signatures are added quite late.
     
  6. VikingStorm

    VikingStorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    387
    KAV is pretty reasonable if you go through the reseller route.
    KAV6 can be had for $25, and KIS6 for $35 (courtesy of Newegg).
     
  7. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    You sure :doubt:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=780104#post780104
     
  8. the insider

    the insider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Posts:
    151
    sorry I was in a panic because this never happened before ... I'l try to stay calm! sorry again !!!:D
     
  9. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Don't worry about it. :)

    Did you get to activate automatic scanning of downloaded files in Firefox? Do tell me, as this info could be very useful for a lot of people. :)
     
  10. the insider

    the insider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Posts:
    151
    I'm not sure ! Do i have to see anything o_O It (download statusbar it's called) downloads but than it ends .... no indication that the file was indeed scanned.
    Maybe I did something wrong? I assumed that the AVP.exe file is the one with the icon in the directory?
    One question left : is there any white space between these caracters o_Oo_O
     
  11. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    The filename is avp32.exe - Do you see a file named avp32?

    And yes, there is a space between these characters.

    To test it, you can download the EICAR AntiVirus Test file at http://www.eicar.com/anti_virus_test_file.htm

    But I don't think the automatic scanning through Firefox is needed if you have KAV, since KAV 6.0 has a HTTP scanner which will block the infected downloads anyway. This would only be useful for KAV clones which do not have the HTTP scanner. :)
     
  12. .....

    ..... Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Posts:
    312
    The name of the scanner in KAV is called "avp.exe" (not avp32.exe). If you read the KAV helpfile it will tell you about command line parameters. Searching on the KAV forums will bring you some details about command line options too.
     
  13. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Perhaps the link I read was outdated since it said avp32.exe. :doubt:
     
  14. .....

    ..... Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Posts:
    312
    Must be.

    KAV 6 has always used the file name avp.exe (and avp.com for command line scanning, although using avp.exe is fine too). I would think the link you read was for a version before KAV5 (and well before KAV6).

    The command line options are quite different in KAV6, but its been a while since i used it, so can't remember many. I think something like "avp.exe SCAN" scans all files on all volumes with default settings if i remember correctly.
     
  15. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    you dont need the firefox's extension to scan every file you download... Kaspersky's webAV scans all the files you download from the internet automaticaly... it scans for viruses and scripts before its downloaded, so you dont need the FF plugin... the plugin and webAV does the same job. Also, when you open the file you downloaded, it'll automaticaly scan the file, so you wont get infected anyway.
     
  16. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    That only works if you are willing to have your broadband connection reduced to ONE-THIRD of what you pay for and usually have. No one on broadband should use web scan from Kaspersky or from NOD32 (it kills your speed also).

    The proper way is to right click on the file you downloaded in Download Manager, then click on "Open Containing Folder". That will take you to the file in your Downloaded Programs folder. You then right click on the file and choose "scan for viruses".
     
  17. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    although i have BB, i still get my full d/l speed with KIS. also, when you open ne file on ur PC (inc the one you downloaded), it'l get scanned by your AV anyway, be it Kaspersky or NOD
     
  18. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    but if your a student you can get 50percent off nod
     
  19. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    What exactly has this got to do with the threads topic "Kaspersky and firefox".
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.