Kaspersky and Agnitum Outpost - Port Monitoring

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by subferno, Jan 5, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. subferno

    subferno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    87
    I have Kaspersky AV 2014 and Agnitum Outpost Firewall 9 installed.

    Looking at Task Manager, avp.exe (Kaspersky) is consuming a lot of connections (300+). I don't know if this is normal or not but I don't understand why my internet usage is proxying through KAV. I have disabled web monitoring in KAV, the only thing active is File AV.

    I am assuming its the port monitoring feature in KAV. If that assumption is correct, is it doing double duty with Aginitum Outpost? Could I disable port monitoring in KAV?
     
  2. thanhtai2009

    thanhtai2009 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Posts:
    205
    Location:
    Vietnam
    Open KAV's Settings > go to Network settings and choose ports you want to be monitored by KAV (you can remove all ports)
     
  3. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Germany
    Your traffic goes through Kaspersky's proxy because the program does its scanning on this level.

    If you disable port monitoring on HTTP 80 for example, you have disabled Web-Anti-Virus for standard web connections as well. Malicious websites won't be blocked for example. Same goes for Mail-Anti-Virus and the associated IMAP and POP3 ports (Mail-AV isn't important though, because the File-Anti-Virus does its job anyway...). File-Anti-Virus is not affected by these settings.
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2014
  4. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    209
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK
    one of the web monitoring conflicts with kav is this proxy business. kav forces everything to access the web thru itself, thus your application settings in outopost for web control do noit function as it only sees kav traffic acting as a container fort the other apps, rendering any settings for apps other than kav useless, and only web control settings for kav app itself work.

    having OP scan web traffic as well as KAV scanning the same traffic can result in conflicts and slowdowns. one or the other ususally needs to get their web filtering disabled.
     
  5. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    One solution perhaps is too pair another av with outpost or use the complete outpost or kaspersky suites.

    I recall avast has a similar issue with some firewalls.
     
  6. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    618
    Not anymore in version 2014 (at least on Windows Vista, 7 and :cool:.

    Vlk
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 6, 2014
  7. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    829
    Location:
    UK
    I did get KAspersky IS working with agnitum myself.

    There is an article on kasperskys website about disabling kasperskys ndis? driver in network connections?

    I did this and no problems with KIS after that apart from its a bit heavy.
    Switched to eset av now
     
  8. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Germany
    If I already had KIS, I wouldn't run something like Outpost with it. There is so much overlap. The last thing I would do is to disable the Kaspersky driver in network connections just to make two programs work together, which clearly are not designed to work in tandem. Especially if you are not 100% sure of how this exactly effects Kaspersky's operation.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.