Kaspersky A/V 9 install wants Prevx 3 Home owner purchase version uninstalled

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Wills, Jan 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wills

    Wills Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    146
    Location:
    Canada
    I am trying to install Kaspersky A/V 2009 and have Prevx 3.0.1.65 installed and am being asked to uninstall it.
    I don't want to do this as I can't find the Key.
    Any suggestions?
    Thank you
     
  2. Baz_kasp

    Baz_kasp Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    Location:
    London
  3. Wills

    Wills Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    146
    Location:
    Canada
    Thx for the reply, however I am a little confused. I am not tech knowledgeable and am wondering if I am trying to hav KAV 2009 ignore the presence of Prevx Edge. I have tried shutting everything down including Prevx but it is still detected even upon Exit of the app when I try the installation via my licenced CD.

    I apologize for my inability to get my sparse computer literacy around the information in the Link that you kindly supplied.
    I read and re-read it but am not sure what I am trying to do.
    I do know that my brother didn't have to uninstall Prevx Edge when he did his install of KAV 2009, however he is not here, we talked on the phone.
    He did his install sometime ago and is much more computer literate than I am.
    I look forward to a reply, thank you.
     
  4. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,129
    Location:
    USA
    .
    You could try contacting Prevx support for a copy of your key. Prevx has forums right here on Wilders...
     
  5. Wills

    Wills Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    146
    Location:
    Canada
    I do have the Key number, but know that my bro did not have to uninstall his Prevx Edge in order to install KAV 2009.
    I went to the site where Prevx Edge can be downloaded from and it asks if you want to buy it.
    Well I already have it and it as well asks if I have a key and want to extend my time etc. or upgrade and I don't want to do either.
    I don't want to get locked out of an app that I already own nor do I want to extend the time on it.
    I was interested in what 'baz' had in the Link but don't understand the concept of what I am trying to do if I take that route. As I mentioned I have read and re-read the Link contents and don't like to start something when I don't know what I am doing.
    Thank you for your interest and support.
     
  6. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812

    Just a FYI The warrning is a Kaspersky issue not a Prevx issue contacting them about it would be pointless. Unless as stated above to get the key tho this is easy to see for your self thur the program.


    Victek this was just to point out not a direct response to your post. :)
     
  7. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,129
    Location:
    USA
    .
    Ah, well it's good to know it's easy to see the Prevx license in the GUI. What I was getting at was the OP could just uninstall Prevx and reinstall after he has Kaspersky running, but it sounds like he doesn't want to do it that way :)
     
  8. Wills

    Wills Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    146
    Location:
    Canada
    I am simply concerned about the fact that version 7 KAV played well with Prevx Edge and then KAV support for Vers 7 was over Jan 10/10 and now I have to bump up to the next version and before I even get it installed I am having issues.
    I have held out this long b/c I have read issues that users have had getting a stable version of 2009 and now when I try a basic install problems evolve.
    I have always appreciated vers. 7 of KAV and Prevx Edge working together well and now this?
    It does not make me feel good having to uninstall Prevx Edge in order to get Kaspersky to 'maybe' play well with Prevx.
    It seems that a simple 'A/V' app is moving into a direction that I already am using a purchased Prevx Edge to deal with and now I have to fiddle around with the 2 apps to 'fingers crossed'...get 2 paid for apps to function ...and this is technology progress?
    I can see that this is not a Prevx issue.
     
  9. harlan4096

    harlan4096 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Posts:
    113
    Location:
    Almería (Spain)
    Just Uninstall PrevX, install KAV 2010 9.0.0.736, after that install Prevx again and add to KAV Exclusions all the processes/executables of Prevx.

    Regards.
     
  10. Wills

    Wills Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    146
    Location:
    Canada
    Thx for the reply Harlan. My bro did not have to delete Prevx to install Kaspersky 2009 (I don't want 2010) and I really don't understand 'exclusions' etc. as I am really not advanced in my knowledge base of applications.
     
  11. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812

    Frankly. He should not have to do the mentioned above. Baz posted a link that should help. Try reading it might make it so you don't have to uninstall anything. Tho Kasper needs to make a better way of doing this.
     
  12. harlan4096

    harlan4096 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Posts:
    113
    Location:
    Almería (Spain)
    I knew the Baz solution, just adding a different possible solution (workaround), but if Willis doesn't accept any of the proposed solutions ...

    Regards.
     
  13. Wills

    Wills Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    146
    Location:
    Canada
    Hmmm.... I have tried 'the Baz solution' which was in the Link... I thank Baz for it, however I am doing something wrong. I removed Vers. 7 and tried to do a d/l of 2009 from the Link , run the product install, and then cancelled in the Set up Wizard.
    Instead of being in My Computer I ended up with 2009 set up on my desktop. I obviously did something wrong.

    Nothing turned up in my hidden files in My computer?
    All that was there was Version 7 set up? en exe. etc.?
    And so I tried the Kaspersky removal Tool and it said that there was no Kaspersky installed?
    Kaspersky 7 was not in my Program list either. It was gone.
    I had nothing of my d/l of version 2009 to copy into the 'C' Root Directory.
    I have repeatedly tried again after taking a break and still am doing something incorrect.
    I simply want to install Kaspersky w/o taking out Prevx.
    As I have said, this has become a make work project.
    Prevx Edge and KAV 7 were well matched and no headaches and now this.
    Thank you
    BTW, I have uninstalled and reinstalled version 7 to see if I could correct the issue of my d/l from the Link, however still seem to be doing something wrong and so I have reinstalled version 7 and updated it.
    I only want vers 2009 and not 2010, btw.
    I have colleagues who have jumped ship from that app re issues that are not of my concern at the moment but are part of the reason that I only want version 2009 and LOL, I am so fumble fingers here with instructions that I can't even get that installed!
    I like the old definition of A/V without it treading into waters that I have purchased another application to deal with.
    I guess simplicity is no longer the 'norm' for users with my limited 'tech' ability and who want to have decent security.
    I genuinely hope that those days of simplicity do return to the 'market and user domains'.
    I have to say that I really do appreciate the interest of members and the assistance offerred as I indeed am in a haze as to what is to be done here. I really would like to accomplish the end result via "Baz Link". Cudos for his suggestion and a thumbs down to my ability to follow the instructions.
    My apologies.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2010
  14. Wills

    Wills Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    146
    Location:
    Canada
    Anyone have any idea of what I am doing wrong here?
    Kaspersky certainly is not the program that Version 7 was and I see why users have made some comments that have negative impacts on 2009 and 2010. My colleagues have rid of 2010.
    I am merely trying to install version 2009 and due to some faux pas made by myself in following the Link I can't get the process of install to work.
    I would appreciate a suggestion to correct whatever I am doing wrong.
    Thank you.
     
  15. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    v2010 had issues when it was first released, but after patches were issues via updates, things seem to be running much smoother for the majority of people.

    Still, if you want to install v2009, let me try to give you the instructions again a little more neatly laid out.
    1. Run the Kaspersky installer... (the KIS....en.exe file)
    2. Click Cancel
    3. Click Start - Run and type in "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Kaspersky Lab Setup Files\Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2009\English\setup.exe" /pSKIPPRODUCTCHECK=1
    Ensure the " is also there
    4. Click OK.

    Does it run the setup and install?

    If it does not run,
    5. Go to C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Kaspersky Lab Setup Files\Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2009\English
    6. Copy the contents of that file to your c:\ directory, so you have c:\setup.exe and c:\kav.en.msi there.
    7. Click Start - Run and type in cmd
    8. In the black Command Prompt window, type in C:\setup.exe /pSKIPPRODUCTCHECK=1

    Does it start installing?

    If you have troubles, what step are you having issues in?
     
  16. Wills

    Wills Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    146
    Location:
    Canada
    Thx very much for your interest and reply.
    I have the CD with the 3 licences for my notebooks and this is my first attempt on one of them to install KAV 2009.
    I am not using the CD install, I am using the Link install that Baz recommended but where I seem to be making some error is right off the start line !
    I remove vers. 7 and then go to the d/l site for 2009, and d/l and run the product and when the Wizard comes up to do the install I click on 'cancel' and therein seems to lie the problem as I can't find in 'My Computer' the hidden files of setup.exe and kav.en.msi for version 2009.
    I saw them being downloaded from the Kasperky site..but I have no idea where they went.
    What is in 'My Computer' is the setup.en etc. for Version 7? I then tried the Kaspersky Removal tool and it indicates that there is no Kaspersky on the notebook.
    I hope this helps in accomplishing the end result of install.
    Thank you.
    BTW, does the install of version 2010 cause this same problem with Prevx Edge as well? or has this bug been fixed.
     
  17. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    Its not a bug, its by design and yes, Kaspersky 2010 will also report it.

    In my post above, do step 3. There, you do not have to locate or copy the file.

    If step 3 does not work, can you confirm you are attempting to install Kaspersky Antivirus 8.0.0.523 (rather than Internet Security).
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2010
  18. Wills

    Wills Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    146
    Location:
    Canada
    Thx again, before I start again; I want to confirm that I simply remove version 7 via add/remove. Then use the Kav 10 tool to clean out any remains?
    As I mentioned earlier I have still found in "My Computer" the 'setup' etc. of version 7 in My Computer and nothing of the d/l of Version 2009 even after checking off "hidden files to be shown".
    And when I used the KAV 10 tool to clean out the vers 7 set up etc. in My Computer it indicated "no Kaspersky"? yet the items were listed for version 7 in "My Computer".
    BTW, system is xpsp2 and I am trying to install 8.00.506 but will want to upgrade that to 8.00.523 directly.
    Thank you.
     
  19. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    By saying "MyComputer", do you mean c:\ or C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Kaspersky Lab Setup Files\Kaspersky Anti-Virus...\?
    Dont worry about the Kaspersky removal tool.
    Post a screenshot of where you see Kaspersky v7.
    Install v8.0.0.523 from the beginning. Doing upgrades can cause issues. Doing it from a clean install is best.
     
  20. Wills

    Wills Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    146
    Location:
    Canada
    I followed your instructions all the way to step 3 and 4 "Click OK" and there was no "set up and install".
    I got the Error that "Windows cannot find: "C:\.............."
    I retyped it and got the same error.

    I then went and checked Document and Settings, "All Users" and the setup.exe for 2009 is in there, however I am not certain of how to accomplish the copy part of step # 6 as I have never had need to do this re c:directory?

    Thank you.
     
  21. Wills

    Wills Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    146
    Location:
    Canada
    Well now I am really confused...I don't understand about the 'activation' key?...b/c What occurred after the install was a 'red' block flashed across the laptop screen with 'blklst.exe' corrupted or.... "do update."o_O
    I don't know what this is about b/c this is the only computer that I have done an install on with this 3 licence key? I should not have a corrupt licence key ...if this is what it means.( I used my cd to install this and it was purchased from a large computer chain store.)
    Does any member know what this is about?
    I certainly don't know what this is all in respect of b/c I have only used this on this notebook and no installs on any other of my notebooks.
    I really would appreciate comments.
    Thank you.
     
  22. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    Its a corrupted file in Kaspersky's bases. It is telling you to update Kaspersky in order to fix it (right-click the K icon and click Update).

    It is NOT saying your specific key is blacklisted.
     
  23. Wills

    Wills Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    146
    Location:
    Canada
    Thank you for your information, interest and support.
    I appreciate it very much.
    Only a couple of lingering queries.
    What is the difference between using the activation code and the key. I have used the activation code to load the KAV CD on this one notebook and wondered if in the future that I have to uninstall it for any reason does use of this code compromise my other keys that I still have available for use? What I mean is repetitive uninstall/reinstall on this computer, does it affect the other 2 keys?
    I have not installed the KAV 2009 program on my other 2 notebooks. I have to go through the same thing and take off Prevx and don't feel like doing it again at the moment. I still have both of them with version 7 and Prevx and they continue to work fine together. On this 2009 version I have had to turn down to minimum a feature on Prevx that works well with version 7. My neighbor is still using version 7/Prevx on his home computers and 2009 on his home/work notebook. This is what I have on my computers for the time being. I hope this 2000 version with Prevx works without any incompatabilities as I did not want to lower one of my settings on Prevx to minimum but had to..just as the neighbor did. Other than that I have stayed away from the computer until work tomorrow and see how things go. I simply liked version 7 without having to uninstall another program and change a security setting.
    Thx again.:)
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2010
  24. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    Keep the activation code safe.
    If you brought a 3-user licence, then the countdown on the other licences will either start when you activate it on another computer, or 30 days after you have activated your first licence, whichever comes first.

    You have to keep up with time and keep software uptodate, just like malware is allways evolveing, so are antiviruses in order to keep up.
     
  25. Wills

    Wills Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    146
    Location:
    Canada
    Thx for the reply.. I know I have to keep up with time, however I don't expect to pay for software and have to keep making adjustments to a prior malware app (well functioning software) in order to have it play ball.
    I don't like to uninstall/reinstall or have to try to understand how to do a new 'comd' to a long term security software so that it is able to do a 'scan skip' to a former well partnered (in the past) malware purchased application.

    I am simply saying as a continuously paying customer that I respect the companies that I buy from and hope that they respect the user enough to consult one another in order that products that are designed to protect the computer and for which we pay should not become a make work project to install and then do test runs on to see if they after future additions will continue to work together.

    BTW, I did ask about Version 7 as well and what all of this lack of tech support means as it certainly for myself and others did its job as an A/V well and did not cause me concerns by reaching into the territory of specifically purchased malware software.
    What is the future of the 'support' to Version 7?
    Updates?
    This was a great program and the very basis upon which I switched to Kaspersky, now again I maybe out there looking simply for a program that I don't have to adjust 'Prevx' features downward simply b/c I have experienced an alleged improvement to a A/V application.
    Thx again, and these are expressions of my frustrations over "keeping up with time" as was expressed...."changes to apps that unless thoroughly tested are not always positive" and can lead to loss of confidence by users and hand in hand....loss of profit.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.