Kaspersky 2021

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Minimalist, Aug 14, 2020.

  1. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,770
    I was able to download a trial version of the update and install it. But not sure what his setup is.

    upload_2021-3-3_21-14-51.png
     
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,797
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Trooper, did you download the non-Cali version? If so, what version is it?

    Thanks.
     
  3. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,770
    I did download the non Cali version and it was .391. Is that what you are using?
     
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,797
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Yep, great! I shall try the download too as I'm not offered .391 here.
     
  5. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,770
    Awesome let me know how you make out with it. Are you using the free version or the paid one?
     
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,797
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    All good! Installed over the top and my settings were kept, which is good.

    I bit the bullet and bought a Personal license.
     
  7. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,770
    Awesome man glad that it worked for you!

    I have KIS but am curious about the cloud version. You think it is worth it over KIS?
     
  8. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,797
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Mmm, probably not. I can't remember now why I chose KSC but I was using the free version before I started the trial of the Pro version.
     
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,797
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    What's the difference between Kaspersky Security Cloud and Kaspersky Total Security
    https://support.kaspersky.com/15397
     
  10. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,227
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I never had Kaspersky before so i just picked KSCloud Paid because it sounded good.
     
  11. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,227
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I still can't find download for update 391 for KSCloud.
     
  12. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,797
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  13. spearpoint

    spearpoint Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2021
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    Bulgaria
  14. harlan4096

    harlan4096 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Posts:
    210
    Location:
    Almería (Spain)
  15. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,770
    Thanks Krusty. Yeah I guess I do not really need those things. One thing that was added to the cloud version but not everything else was a DND mode. Not sure what Kaspersky is thinking here.
     
  16. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,329
    Location:
    USA
    Does anyone use the password manager? I see it is a trial but for a fair price I may consider it. Once LastPass cripples the free version enough that it is not practical to use (we WILL get there at some point) I will be looking for a replacement. I don't mind paying for something if the price is fair. I played with it a little bit yesterday and it looks to have some potential. I'm just wondering if anyone has found any issues I should look out for.
     
  17. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,770
    Did not get around to trying it but I may. I already use BitWarden which I highly recommend by the way.
     
  18. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,329
    Location:
    USA
    Not wanting to go too far off topic... I've played with Bitwarden and I don't like it as well as LastPass. I'll keep playing the with the Kaspersky version and see how it goes. It looks nice so far. I guess it's a question of whether it is worth the price, which I guess is the question with anything.
     
  19. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,533
    I gave this password manager a try a couple of months ago and liked it. I would use it if I didn't use KeePass already. I also tried some other password managers, but I still like the one from KL and KeePass best.
     
  20. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,533
    I have been using KIS 21.3 for some time and noticed lots of unprocessed objects în the File Anti-Virus reports. Is this normal behaviour that KIS is unable to process so many objects? Are there any settings I can use to make KIS process all objects?
    KIS_unprocessed-objects1.png
     
  21. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,797
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I just looked and I've got quite a few too.
     
  22. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,533
    Maybe this is normal behaviour then, but why? Why is it not possible for Kaspersky to process so many objects (exe, pdf files etc.). Strange.
     
  23. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,797
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    After connecting to a public WiFi access point on my Android phone (for the first time ever) I used the VPN on my phone for the first time. Now that I'm home I connected my PC to their VPN and the few MB I used while on my phone doesn't show. Could that mean We get 500 MB per device?
     
  24. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,770
    Where do I find this in the settings of KIS? Will check mine when I get home tonight.
     
  25. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,329
    Location:
    USA
    I'm going to assume that all of these files are locked/in use.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.