Kaspersky 2021

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Minimalist, Aug 14, 2020.

  1. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,846
    Nice. I still don't have it yet just checked and rebooted.
     
  2. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,030
    I've got Patch F now as well.
     
  3. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,846
    Got it today.
     
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,991
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Nice! :thumb:
     
  5. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,846
    Thanks Krusty. It was a nice surprise for sure. :)
     
  6. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,281
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    In KSCloud network setting it has manage DOH servers. I use a DOH server in my Chrome settings. Do i have to put the same server in KSCloud setting.
     
  7. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,281
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    https://support.kaspersky.com/KSCloud/Win4.2/en-US/191254.htm
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 5, 2021
  8. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    USA
    Could someone please tell me if Kaspersky Firewall offers an Interactive Mode? I want to be prompted for all outbound connection attempts that I have not defined an allow rule for. I'm testing Kaspersky Internet Security in Virtualbox right now to see if it would make a possible replacement for Eset.
     
  9. 3x0gR13N

    3x0gR13N Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    804
    Yes, however you need to know how to properly configure the use of rules inheritance. If you set the Trusted group of applications (Windows components, known apps etc.) to prompt for network activity you'll get repeated prompts if you don't select "Create rule based on action" from the dropdown menu in the FW popup and confirm the new custom rule. It's a couple clicks more and can be annoying.

    For example, Windows Explorer will be set to prompt network activity if you set the entire Trusted group to prompt and consecutively all applications (lets say Chrome) that you launch from the desktop (Windows Explorer is their parent process) will have the prompt rule inherited from it. However, if you just click allow on the FW prompt from Chrome, without selecting "Create rule based on action" and manually creating the rule, you'll still get prompted for Chrome on next execution because it will still inherit the prompt rule from Explorer.
    Rules set via "Create rule based on action" bypass rule inheritance.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    USA
    I set the Trusted Group of Applications to prompt, and Kaspersky still would not prompt me for anything. I did this after settings Kaspersky back to it's default settings.

    I also experienced a problem with Kaspersky silently blocking all internet access. The only change I had made to Kaspersky at that point was an application control rule not allowing Firefox to inject into other processes or alter the memory of other processes. That should not cause Kaspersky to block internet access to every application on the system. I set Firefox application control rules back to their default settings, and still no internet. I had to use the option in Kaspersky's GUI to set everything back to default to resolve the problem. Kaspersky may be too buggy for me in it's current state. I will give it a try again later after I look at Bitdefender.
     
  11. harlan4096

    harlan4096 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    Almería (Spain)
    Disable 1st setting, to get into Interactive Mode:

    upload_2021-10-7_10-22-49.png
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2021
  12. B-boy/StyLe/

    B-boy/StyLe/ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    308
    Location:
    Bulgaria
  13. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,991
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I'm still on 'F' here and if history is anything to go by it could take a couple of weeks before I get updated.
     
  14. B-boy/StyLe/

    B-boy/StyLe/ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    308
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Hi,

    Do you have the following value modified? Setting is to 200 will force Kaspersky to install patches as soon as possible:

    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\KasperskyLab\AVP21.3\environment]
    "UpdateTarget"="200"
    Kaspersky's self-defense should be temporarily stopped before the tweak.
     
  15. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,991
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Hi,

    No I haven't changed that registry key. I won't bother with it and am happy to wait. The update will make it here sooner or later.

    Thanks.
     
  16. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,627
    I changed it. I had to disable Kaspersky's self defense to change the registry value.

    Whether it actually will force KFA to push out a new patch sooner remains to be seen.
     
  17. B-boy/StyLe/

    B-boy/StyLe/ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    308
    Location:
    Bulgaria
  18. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,146
  19. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,991
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    While I can't read Russian I'll take your word for it. I do see "Windows 11" mentioned.

    Thanks all. :)
     
  20. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,146
    well, i took his word for it too. i hope it's true. :D
     
  21. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,554
    Location:
    USA
    When I run Kaspersky and change that registry value it works every single time. I think it's more of a pull than a push though since this value does have effect.
     
  22. B-boy/StyLe/

    B-boy/StyLe/ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    308
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    It is. I am Bulgarian and we have similar languages. :)
     
  23. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,146
    i was just kidding. i had no doubt you were telling the truth. :thumb:
     
  24. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,627
    I was joking! The similarity in languages speaks for itself and that's all I will say here.
     
  25. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,281
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.