Karmic - General Tips/Solutions

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Ocky, Nov 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,710
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Would this be useful here ? If not please delete thread.

    Gtk recordMyDesktop.
    To get sound recording working:- Open 'Advanced' >'Sound' and where it says 'Device'
    change upper case 'DEFAULT' to lower case 'default' and you can record sound. Just
    tried with a usb microphone.

    Only problem so far is Kdenlive - totally unusable in Karmic after very good in Jaunty.**

    **Edit: It's OK now but must use sunab's repo.
    ppa:sunab/ppa

    That way you also get the libavcodec-extra-52 which replaces the unstripped version. Means you can probably play
    all multimedia files from hdmov to divx/xvid etc.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2009
  2. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i don't know about your tips, but i saw a good one the other day for encrypted home directories. i didn't think i'd re-find the article, but i remembered i bookmarked it ;) lol. i'm not up on all the recent OSes updates so maybe everyone knows this already.
    http://www.linux-mag.com/cache/7568/1.html

    on page two it shows the box you check to encrypt your home directory, all you have to do is give a passphrase then every time you log in you give the pass to access your encrypted data.

    ubuntu-encryption-installer-small.jpg
     
  3. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,710
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    No not my tips, but tips and solutions from Karmic users. It seems to be quite a problematic distro for many. But maybe this is not the place - after all there are the Ubuntu forums. :)
     
  4. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,710
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Avidemux from repo - audio problem. Only works if you enable OSS in audio Prefs.
    Haven't yet got a saved file to play audio without distortion.
    Edit:- In Audio 'OSS' and 'ProLogic' is fine.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2009
  5. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,710
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Ctrl+Alt+Backspace enable.

    System>Preferences>Keyboard>Keyboard Preferences>Layouts>Layout Options>Key sequence to kill the X
    server.
    Place tick next to Ctrl+Alt=Backspace.

    (From release notes Karmic 9.10)

    :D
     
  6. steve161

    steve161 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Posts:
    681
    Location:
    New York
    Turn on autohinting for fonts

    sudo ln -sf /etc/fonts/conf.avail/10-autohint.conf /etc/fonts/conf.d/

    If you change your fonts to medium hinting and sub-pixel rendering, you may notice Firefox 3.5 does not recognize it. That is because Firefox 3.5 uses the /etc/fonts/conf.d file for its fonts. This will give you medium hinting and sub-pixel rendering in 3.5.

    sudo rm /etc/fonts/conf.d/10-hinting-slight.conf

    sudo rm /etc/fonts/conf.d/10-no-sub-pixel.conf

    sudo ln -s /etc/fonts/conf.available/10-hinting-medium.conf /etc/fonts/conf.d/

    sudo ln -s /etc/fonts/conf.available/10-sub-pixel-rgb.conf /etc/fonts/conf.d/

    sudo dpkg-reconfigure fontconfig
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2009
  7. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,202
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    If in Ubuntu Netbook Remix you'll notice that Home is not available in Files & Folders. To add Home open .gtk-bookmarks (in /home/your-user-name) and add "file:///home/your-user-name" to the list and save.

    Small point I know but it made getting to Home a step or two easier.

    BTW, UNR Karmic runs great on my old Sony VGN-S360 1.7 ghz, 1 gig ram, ATI 9700 laptop.
     
  8. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,359
    Location:
    .
    Cheers for that. I had not bothered looking for a fix for that as been busy fixing other issues.

    Cheers, Nick
     
  9. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,204
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  10. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,710
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
  11. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,710
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Still had some issues with audio but found out that one needs to install libsdl1.2debian-pulseaudio (in Synaptic - it will remove the alsa package of the same description).
    Then in Kdenlive settings>playback>audio change driver to pulseaudio.
    That fixes it for me.:) No ill effects on all my other audio programs at all.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.