K-Meleon 0.9.13

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Apr 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,764
    Location:
    Texas
    http://kmeleon.sourceforge.net/
     
  2. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    I have used this browser before and its fast, but uninstalled it as I am content with my Firefox and still I uses IE if firefox didn't want me to show some webpages. But, I think K-Meleon can be one of the best alternative browser we can use.
     
  3. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,785
    I switched from Firefox to K-Meleon a while ago and am really liking it. The latest has everything I need right out of the box. Very nice...
     
  4. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I prefer K-meleon because of its speed & small footprint & configurability.
     
  5. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    I haven't tried and used K-Meleon for a long time, but are the latest version also has a ScrapBook extension like Firefox? :rolleyes: :cautious:

    Coz ScrapBook is one of the most used extension in my Firefox browser, sometimes I'd want to store andreview and read the whole webpages...the easy way. Just like capturing a whole snap-shots, storing it, then reviewing it later then deletes them if I want to. :cool:
     
  6. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,697
    Hello,
    I have been using K-Meleon for some time.
    And I'm pleasantly surprised. Very much so. Furthermore, slightly offtopic, I must also add that Opera 9 Beta is also very nice. My repertoire of good browsers has suddenly increased!
    Per site javascript and adblocking is the way to go! Opera has it. K-Meleon incorporates it. Very nice.
    Back on topic, K-Meleon, nice and steamlined, reminds me of Open Office interface kind of, clean and light.
    Mrk
     
  7. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    What about Opera? I still like it most after firefox! Sorry a bit off topic.
     
  8. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,764
    Location:
    Texas
    K-Meleon is the topic of this thread.
     
  9. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Right! but it,s a browser and when u discuss a browser, can u avoid the comparison with others. I think may be not.
     
  10. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,764
    Location:
    Texas
    This topic was posted for those that use K-Meleon. It was not posted to be a comparison thread and it won't be a comparison thread. There are plenty of other threads to discuss the other browsers.
    Okay? :)
     
  11. Grumble

    Grumble Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Posts:
    185
    Location:
    the sunshine state
    K-Meleon is definitely a cool, clean, configurable, and very fast browser... thanks for the heads-up.

    I’ve still got 0.9 installed. Meant to upgrade when 0.9.12 came out in January but never got around to it. I WILL upgrade to 0.9.13 however... I WILL! I WILL! ... soon as I get around to it.
     
  12. bktII

    bktII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Posts:
    224
    Just downloaded and installed K-Meleon on my desktop and it is VERY fast to startup. I particularly like the privacy bar.

    I will try for a while and install on my notebook in a week or two if I am still happy with it.

    bktII
     
  13. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Have they made K-Meleon any easier to use? Perhaps the geeky types may feel that it has always been easy, but when I tried K-M some time ago, I almost felt like I had to learn hacking skills in order to use the thing. Thanks.

    Acadia
     
  14. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,764
    Location:
    Texas
    Just use the menu options at the top of the browser Acadia. Don't fret about the macros. :D
    Speaking of options, it has a boatload of them.
    The best thing to do is install it and work with it when you feel like it. It won't break anything on your computer.
     
  15. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Speed is certainly not an argument anymore (it never was) for choosing a browser on my new computer.
    So it doesn't make a difference if I use K-Meleon, MSIE, Firefox, Opera or any other browser.

    Firefox was always very slow in opening on my old computer, but that didn't bother me, because I like Firefox.
    Opening Firefox on my new computer takes 1-2 seconds, that is more than I ever expected.
    Will K-Meleon make a difference ? NO and K-Meleon doesn't have the same "Find in page" function as Firefox, which is one of the many reasons, why I like Firefox so much.
     
  16. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,764
    Location:
    Texas
    This thread is not about Firefox Erik. K-Meleon is the topic.
     
  17. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    LOL, of course not, I've got FirstDefense! (Oops, sorry about that, this thread is not about FD. :D )

    Acadia
     
  18. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Does K-M have any kind of "Find in page" function?

    Acadia
     
  19. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    It can search for text in the page, if that's what you mean ;)

    Alphalutra1
     
  20. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,785
    Ctrl-F will pop up the usual Find dialog box if that's what you mean...

    Edit: Oops, Alpha beat me to it.. :)
     
  21. bktII

    bktII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Posts:
    224
  22. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I think any browser has that function and yes I'm talking about Find under Edit (=Ctrl+F).
    In K-Meleon, the "Find" works the same way as in MSIE : it uses a popup window to do the search, while Firefox uses a bar, which is much better because a popup window blocks my view and in MSIE it stops working after the last search, while Firefox restarts again.
     
  23. Meltdown

    Meltdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Posts:
    299
    Location:
    Babylon
    Or you can use the function below, just type the first few letters of the word, hit F3 to find further instances:

    http://img127.imageshack.us/img127/9283/screenshot200604280028597au.png

    I've been using the latest KM 1.0 beta for the last week or so; the bugs are minor, it's stable enough for regular use, and noticably faster than the 0.9 releases. It has a new preferences panel, which is easier to get to grips with than the extensive and scattered menu options at present. It also has a search bar, but unfortunately the bar doesn't stay functional as you move between layers:

    http://img127.imageshack.us/img127/6685/screenshot200604280045297je.png
     
  24. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I just tried K-Meleon 0.9.13 and the Find is still the same like in MSIE.
    It still blocks my view.
    It still stops after the last match.
    I don't see any improvement.
    I don't run betas on my computer. I can wait.
     
  25. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Yeah, I kind of feel the same way, BUT, I have a good feeling about this one, that it has a lot of potential; I'd like to maybe try it a year from now! :cool:

    Acadia
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.