Just wanna tell ESET Something

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by wdcefv1000, Jan 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wdcefv1000

    wdcefv1000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Well um i've been wanting to play Cabal Online but when it's Updating NOD32 finds Win32/Packed Themida so I contacted the helpdesk telling them about it and they told that they need it to run the game and it isn't a Trojan so can you change it so NOD32 doesn't detect it? cause it's annoying >_> downloading Cabal for 4hours and not being able to play
     
  2. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    I'm not sure what exactly it is you are downloading. Could you tell us the exact name of the file? If you can't remember, check your quarantine, and tell us if it mentions a URL.
     
  3. CivilTaz

    CivilTaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Posts:
    146
  4. wdcefv1000

    wdcefv1000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Um it's the update to play the game. update_43_1.dat it's to play Cabal online
    I've already told the Helpdesk for Cabal Online and say that they need Win32/Packed Themida to play Cabal or something like that heres the full thing

    Message from Cabal Helpdesk: Hello,



    Thank you for contacting our Help Desk. Due to a recent update to some anti-virus program's virus definitions, certain components of Cabal.exe are now being picked up as a false positive. The most common reports of programs having this error are AVG, Norton Anti-Virus, and Kaspersky. Do not be alarmed, neither Cabal Online nor its installers are infected with this Trojan. This problem is related to some of the properties of XTrap and Cabal.exe that are required to successfully launch.



    As with Cabal.exe, we recommend that you add to any and all exceptions lists for your security software. Do not allow your virus program to "repair" any files as this will corrupt your cabal.exe file. To remedy a corrupted cabal.exe file please uninstall the game and re-install.



    If you are unable to configure your anti-virus software to ignore the "virus", then you may need to temporarily disable some functions while playing, at least until this issue is corrected with your virus program.
     
  5. wdcefv1000

    wdcefv1000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Posts:
    5
  6. CivilTaz

    CivilTaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Posts:
    146
    To install the update, disable temporarily the real-time protection, update your game, then enable protection again. If nod32 detects something after related to your game after that, add a exclusion for the files that are being detected.
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    It'd suffice to disable potentially unwanted applications in the web/real-time protection setup temporarily while the program updates. By using Themida, they account for detection by many other AVs that detect Themida itself as a suspicious packer as it's much more often misused by malware writers to protect their creations than by legit applications. ESET does not flag every Themida-packed application, only thos that meet certain conditions. Also further improvements will be made to the program to minimize alerts on legit applications. As of version 4, potentially unwanted applications (PUA) are not reported by a red alert window as malware, instead a yellow window with action selection appears. Whether PUA are detected or not depends on the user who enables/disables detection during program installation (this setting can be changed later at any time in the program setup).
     
  8. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    Good to hear :)
     
  9. wdcefv1000

    wdcefv1000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    I did that but it still still stopped the Update.
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Maybe you forgot to disable web protection as well?
     
  11. wdcefv1000

    wdcefv1000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    How do you Disable Web Protection?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.