just installed avira 10 free

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by wutsup, Mar 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    what is avshadow.exe and for other avira 10 users do u also get it in task manager?
     
  2. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    Good question..... I got avshadow.exe too and I have Avira premium. I think it has something to do with the first scan where it scans every process and subfile, my first scan ran for 7 hours. I am just as perplexed as you as to the actual reason but I think it is just for the first scan to make sure you computer is clean.
     
  3. bollity

    bollity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Posts:
    179
    waiting for an answer
     
  4. AbsoluteZero

    AbsoluteZero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Posts:
    31
    Thats quite a long time, considering the first scan on my computer with avira 10 took only about 37 minutes with 150GB worth of files.
     
  5. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    I'll be looking in to cutting that time down. My run time before was about 40 minutes for 170 GB worth of files.
     
  6. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    i downloaded it from, official website which led me to download.com. it should be safe right?
     
  7. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Of course its safe
     
  8. marcuskng

    marcuskng AV Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Posts:
    49
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shadow_Copy
    Avshadow is our enhanced approach at this.

    I guess the name can raise an eyebrow (thanks to whoever at Microsoft picked the name of the technology), but don't worry, the coast is clear :)
     
  9. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    ah ok thx for clearing that up, avira free version 10 is stlll good even with an extra process called avshadow.

    i have another question if u dont mind answerng,

    on the cnet review (http://download.cnet.com/8301-2007_4-20000834-12.html?tag=contentMain;contentBody) of avira free version 10, it said you have to register during the installation, but on previous versions and even in the newest avira version 10, u can just uncheck both checkboxes and continue installing without any problems. why did this reviewer on cnet say you have to register?

    for other avira 10 users, did u register avira free during install, or just unchecck both boxes like i did?
     
  10. johnyjohn

    johnyjohn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Posts:
    126
    AV10 Personal registration is not mandatory, like in previous versions. This information from Cnet reviewer is definitively false.
     
  11. marcuskng

    marcuskng AV Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Posts:
    49
    As is the information that we neither provide an uninstaller nor a removal tool....
     
  12. johnyjohn

    johnyjohn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Posts:
    126
    I really wonder if this guy installed AV10 Personal. :thumbd:
     
  13. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    wait so john, the avira he tested was a fake avira rougue?
     
  14. Baserk

    Baserk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    1,317
    Location:
    AmstelodamUM
    No, he tested the real thing but he has come short in giving proper details.
     
  15. johnyjohn

    johnyjohn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Posts:
    126
    Also this is is definitively wrong : all versions of AV10, also the free version do eliminate rootkits.
     
  16. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    ah ok thx for the info,

    sorry but yet again i have another question. i did a full scan last night and when i woke up it looked like i didnt even start the scan, no report or anything.

    so i just did a hidden objects scan(active malware scan) and it says i have 17 hidden objects. and here are the names of some of them and i cant remove them

    antiviru.evt located in c drive/repair/backup/servicestate/configdirectory
    antivirus.evt same directory
    internet.evt
    tempkey.log

    are these malware? or just false positive by avira
     
  17. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
  18. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    hey meri! thx for replying here as well. yes my secondary computer has had avast 4.8 a long time ago, is that where antiviru.evt is coming from?

    also, avira 10 free works flawlessly on my main 64 bit vista comp, but on my secondeay home 32 bit xp comp its having problems scanning. the luke filewalkker scanner will just exit out when it hits 23% and it doesnt even log into events or reports. i reinstalled it, same thing. any ideas whats going on? right now im scanning it again but i created an exception to the folder where it just exited out at 23%(just some mp3s) and im waiting to see if itll finish properly

    edit: i just watched it scan, and it seems like it gets stuck in a cycle where it keeps scanning the same files over and over, the files are mp3s, jpgs, and m4a files.
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2010
  19. mvario

    mvario Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Posts:
    339
    Location:
    Haddonfield, IL
    False, I got those also, and some other FP stuff. Wouldn't be so bad if it made it easy to ignore/exclude. I went back to version 9 for the time being.
     
  20. mvario

    mvario Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Posts:
    339
    Location:
    Haddonfield, IL
    I saw someone with the same problem on another board. They solved it by turning off "Follow Symbolic Links" in settings.
     
  21. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    wow thx man, thats seems to have solved it. in avira 9, even with symbolic liniks on it didnt do this...maybe avira 10 needs to be tweaked some more.

    also, this doesnt happen in my vista 64 bit comp. maybe it happens on just soe computers

    oh yea thx to meriadoc also
     
  22. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,221
    I always had strange behaviour during scans when checking "Follow symbolic links" and "Integrity checking of system Files" with version 9. I don't think they are really necessary (please advise if I'm wrong) as they are not default, and I'm not using them in version 10.
     
  23. johnyjohn

    johnyjohn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Posts:
    126
    Hi,
    Windows has many hidden objects. After the look of these files, they are harmless (log and configuration files), so you have nothing to worry about.
     
  24. iTrendsNET

    iTrendsNET Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    I noticed all the complaints regarding the continuing of the update/notify/advertisement in the thread titled "Avira 10, When?", but decided it is better to post my comments here since I am running the release version. I decided to give Avira 10 Free a try as I got tired of the anti-virus in CIS 4.0 killing my updates in QuickBooks Enterprise.

    Anyway, I am running Avira 10 Free for several days now and only saw the pop-up advertisement after the first update after the initial install. Avira is updating daily, but no pop-ups here. Is everyone else having the same experience or do you think Comodo might know to block the pop-up? Really just curious, but I like it!

    My three computers with CIS 4.0 (firewall and defense +), SAS paid, Immunet/ClamAV and now Avira seem to be running very smoothly.
     
  25. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    i did another full scan today and the hidden objects dont show up anymore. maybe the updated database fixxed it?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.