Just bought KIS 7

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by starter15, Nov 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. starter15

    starter15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Posts:
    57
    After a long while of testing out various security suites, most recently ESET's, I have come back to KIS 7. This is largely because I was able to buy it at a local shop for $13.50 CAN. This was a good deal right? I've noticed that it usually retails for like $40+. Should I change any of the settings or is the default adequate protection? Thanks to this board for all the help it's given me in the recent weeks.
     
  2. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    Futureshop?
     
  3. starter15

    starter15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Posts:
    57
    no, i was on the futureshop website and they have it listed for 79 + tax. this was just at an independent computer shop in edmonton.
     
  4. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Hi starter15,

    i would suggest you to keep the original settings.
    The only thing you might want to disable is the 'start-up scan' option. :)
     
  5. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758
    Firewall --> Training Mode.
    Web AV --> Maximum
    Scan --> Maximum (Heuristic Analyzer Detail)
    Others --> Default.
     
  6. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    Futureshop recently had it as a webdeal for $15.
     
  7. Zombini

    Zombini Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Posts:
    469
    KIS7 has the outbound firewall OFF by default. which makes it as bad as XP SP2. Something to think about.
     
  8. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    You're really sure about that o_O
    Firewall is active the moment you install and reboot.
    All outgoing connections were monitored by KIS7, so everytime I got a pop-up. :D
     
  9. starter15

    starter15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Posts:
    57
    i think that was KAV not KIS, but i could be wrong.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.