JKDefrag updated 2/1/2008

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by bellgamin, Feb 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,157
    Location:
    Hawaii
    JKDefrag has updated to version 3.34 as of 2/1/08. I couldn't find any summary of the changes. It requires no installing. Just unzip it into whichever folder you desire. Get it at...

    http://www.kessels.com/JkDefrag/index.html
     
  2. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Thanks,Bellgamin-still my favorite!

    Changes (in Forum)
    - Re-fixed the "DisableDefaults" bug.
    - Partial undo of the change that uses the mountpoint of a volume. It was causing
    problems during the automatic scanning for disks to be defragmented.
    - Pushed the "Zone calculation" messages down to debug level 4.
    - Fixed the VisualC example project.

    ps -the Emiel Wieldraaijer. GUI on same page is worth using-
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2008
  3. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    is it any goodo_O?
     
  4. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,157
    Location:
    Hawaii
    It's better than good -- it is superb. Fast. Safe. Stable. Does a really good defrag. Very configurable, but works good right out of the box, as well. Plus it's free.

    There are detailed usage instructions on the same web page I listed above. The GUI recommended by Hairy C is also good (so I've heard -- I don't use it myself).
     
  5. MikeNAS

    MikeNAS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    FiNLAND
    A must have program. I use it with command line or with direct shortcut. I'm using bellgamin's recommended option 9.
     
  6. Judge Dee

    Judge Dee Guest

    Wow! Thanks bellgamin! :thumb:
    I like the options it gives you. The 2 I've tried had no options as to type of defrag.
    Using GUI, though (at least for now).
    Good program. :)

    Scotcov
     
  7. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    JK benefits by doing a cleanup first,then running in safe mode with the anti virus inactive-slower but more effective.
    Guess it would be even better using it with JK installed on BartPE.
     
  8. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,041
    or use scan defrag
     
  9. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Interesting thanks am testing to see if its advantageous over my present GUI and setup.
     
  10. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,041
    No problem i tested it yesterday works great
     
  11. MikeNAS

    MikeNAS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    FiNLAND
    I just disable Shadow Defender (network disabled) once in a month and run JkDefrag with option 9. All partitions are shadowed. Of course I have done lots of cleaning after Windows installation.
     
  12. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    i use defualt defrag setting , took him long time to complete 1%... other defragger is 10 time faster...wierd
     
  13. Cerxes

    Cerxes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    Northern Europe
    I´ve always used Diskeeper (free/paid) but wanted to test some free defrag tool so I´ve decided to check out JkDefrag and it seems to perform its job quite well. But it doesn´t run from a restricted user account (as JK proclaims on his site) without a termination error so you have to use the "Run as..." command to have full access to the disks. I could change this and allow permanent full permission to the disks aswell, but then why should I then run restricted?

    I´ve checked out JK's forum for an answer but couldn´t find any good solution to this problem.

    /C.
     
  14. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,098
    Location:
    USA
    Cerxes: I read that it should work under a Limited account too but honestly, I never thought it would. (Kind of makes sense that it shouldn't.) So anyway, whenever I do a defrag (which isn't often), I just run it under my admin account. It runs fast enough that it's never been much of a hassle for me...
     
  15. Cerxes

    Cerxes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    Northern Europe
    Since I´m gaming quite often, I want the system to be "on its toes" so I will use the SuRun tool to solve this minor issue.

    /C.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.