Jiangmin Antivirus

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by boredog, Jun 28, 2015.

  1. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    1,181
    Hello

    I was wondering if anyone has tried Jiangmin Antivirus http://jiangmin-antivirus.en.softonic.com/ and if so how is it?

    Thanks
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 28, 2015
  2. marciocruz

    marciocruz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Posts:
    249
    the last version if from 2009,according to that link....so.....long time without update's
     
  3. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    1,181
    I installed it today and after install it did update. but the update did take like an hour
     
  4. marciocruz

    marciocruz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Posts:
    249
    i'm not talking about virus updates, but program updates, bug fixs,support for new windows versions, etc's
     
  5. JimmyJames321

    JimmyJames321 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Posts:
    47
    It's ok if you tried it just for the sake of trying it ! I won't suggest anyone using it for long. Clicked on the Developer Link on Softonic's Jiangmin page (http://global.jiangmin.com/) and it turned out dead. Their Chinese local webpage still works though.

    (Jiangmin's prime time has passed since Qihoo started it's Free AV spree last decade in China)
     
  6. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,250
    It's been quite some time since they discontinued English language support. It's no great loss as the detection rates were never that good. The Chinese version is still developed, but it has no English language support. Even though the old version you've downloaded updated its definitions, you won't be able to purchase it.

    The final English version, KV2010 can be downloaded from Softpedia is you are interested.

    I was a paid user eight years ago, and has some issues. There was an option in the software to generate a log file to use for diagnostics. But if I remember correctly, the email to Jiangmin support with the log file was bounced back. Also, I emailed them when the 2008 version was released to see if it was possible to upgrade my licence so work with the 2008 version, and received no reply.
     
  7. JimmyJames321

    JimmyJames321 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Posts:
    47
    It's interesting that a person from outside of China (I assume) would want and actually pay to buy license of a Chinese AV back then.
     
  8. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,250
    @JimmyJames321 I like using a wide variety of software and still use a few Chinese programs. I once was a paid user of Rising Antivirus, a year or two before they released the free verision.
     
  9. JimmyJames321

    JimmyJames321 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Posts:
    47
    Indeed, interesting to know.. Roger. Actually I've come across a few persons on different forums who also do that.
     
  10. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,250
  11. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,016
    Another abandon-ware...;)
     
  12. JimmyJames321

    JimmyJames321 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Posts:
    47
    I understand you're not from China, Roger. That's why I said it's interesting to know ( you actually bought licenses of Chinese AVs back in 07~08 ):cool:.
     
  13. coolcfan

    coolcfan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Posts:
    123
    Now it's rarely used in China. The creator of the company (who was also the main programmer in early times) passed away a few years ago, and the company is not doing good.

    Their own engine was not good, and they lack the ability to build a strong cloud.

    Their compitators, on the other hand, are all "modern" "internet" companies. Their products use Avira and Bitdefender engines to make up the weakness in their own engines, and they are pretty good at building things on the cloud.

    Maybe you should treat it "dead", although it's still there.
     
  14. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    1,181
    Well I find it funny it works fine on Win 8.1 64 bit version and doesn't seem to conflict with Norton or any other software I have on my system. Like I said after installing the 2009 version my udate to a newer version took about an hour. But when I reboot all is gone.
     
  15. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,250
    @boredog Try uninstalling the 2009 version, and then installing the 2010 version from Softpedia.
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2015
Loading...