Jetico Personal Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Pfipps, Jun 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pfipps

    Pfipps Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Posts:
    181
    I am on the trial for the Vista version, is there a way to password protect the settings? I use NOD32 and have been with the Windows firewall for a while now, and would like more control over the programs. To be honest, the firewall configuration looks complicated, but it did stealth my pc...I just have a steep learning curve with it :)
     
  2. kr4ey

    kr4ey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Florida USA
    No. There is no password protection in Jetico.
    I was kind of hoping they would add it in the future.
     
  3. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    Jetico Inc. Development is always listening to good/useful ideas and propositions;)


    Regards,

    Smokey
     
  4. Velnias

    Velnias Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Posts:
    32
    Hmm, password protection...
    Options -> Access Control
    is all what you need!?
     
  5. gavel

    gavel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    Hi, Pfipps
    Yes, is all what you need!

    ~snip~
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 4, 2007
  6. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Hi:

    Just curious if the product back up it's settings in a file?
    If so, while waiting for psw protection you could use that ability and store them on a cd/dvd/flash drive?:doubt:
     
  7. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, this gives control of access to the edit/delete/creation of rules within JPF2(based on windows logged in rights). Registry modification could alter this in earlier versions, but I admit, I have not checked on this for a number of builds(as I only use one account on my setup,... and from some quick tests, I see that JPF2 now monitors some registy entries (but I have not had time to check which) but would expect that JPF entries will be protected?)
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2007
  8. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Full rule backup can be made/restored.
     
  9. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    Smokey himself is not using Jetico.
    As for me i use Jetico since v1. In the moment i am short of time and i apologize if i can't look every time deep into each request and answer them propably; there are also some more competent person like 'Nail' to help.
    I have a private life, two very big web pages which request my full attention and also a job (have to eat), but i promise to better me and eat less :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 4, 2007
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    Off-topic and argumentative posts removed.

    The topic of this thread is the Jetico Personal Firewall, and not an individual poster. Please lets keep it this way. If you have a problem with what someone is posting use the report bad post button.

    Thank you,

    Pete
     
  11. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    Am I the only one who misses the popup ballon that says "Jetico personal firewall" from the taskbar icon? BTW, I noticed it with 32 and now with 33.
    Not a big deal really, I'm not sure if the issue is even worth posting... :p
     
  12. mike113377

    mike113377 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Posts:
    19
    When are they going to release some new version with a totally automatic configuration ? So annoying to handle all these pop ups (quite easy when it comes to applications you know, but it becomes tricky when 'SYSTEM' services show up, one wrong decision and your internet access becomes blocked)
     
  13. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    This task is nearly impossible. What can be done are standard rulsets for Browser, eMail clients, well known applications, etc. Thoese rulesets will refer to their 'Network activity (Internet activity)'.

    Most popups you get because Jetico is asking in standard configurations for each apllication for permission:

    1. - Indirect access to Network
    2. - Access to Network
    3. - Network access
    4. - Application Checksum (3 times, each for the above 3 points)
    and
    5. - possibly for 'Process attack'

    You can disable point 1/2/4/5, but i don't suggest this, because this makes Jetico a strong FF. Do so if you have a third party applications which also has one of those checkings like for example SSM (point 4 and 5).
    As for all those popups you have to take your time and configure Jetico once and it will popup only again when a new application is installed or something is wrong.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.