Jetico Personal Firewall 2.0.0.31 is ready

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by hiro, May 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hiro

    hiro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Posts:
    77
    Jetico Personal Firewall 2.0.0.32 is ready

    First, we improved logging subsystem. Previous versions appeared to be
    vulnerable to DoS attacks due to log weakness. We fixed it. In addition
    we reduced kernel memory usage.

    Next, problems with commercial license are fixed. JPF v2.0.0.31 will continue
    working after subscription expiration. We also replaced "Evaluation version"
    with "Registered to" for registered users.
    Correct Skype and Opera 9.20 detection added.

    http://www.jetico.com/jpf2.htm

    Thanks for help
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2007
  2. hiro

    hiro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Posts:
    77
    Re: Jetico Personal Firewall 2.0.0.32 is ready

    25-May-2007 version 2.0.0.32 released. Changes:
    Firewall freezing on switching security policy fixed.
    Setup program registartion fixed.
    JPF server memory usage reduced.
    Russian translation updated.
    - download:
    http://www.jetico.com/jpf2setup.exe
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2007
  3. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    Now, after many issues with beta (and some final) builds, this (2.0.0.32) is really starting to look like a winner. It may be a little premature statement, but running it for a couple of days without a single problem. Handles multiple (100s) connections well, memory usage is approx 15 megs, no blue-screens, almost no CPU usage. Very stable. The indirect access denying issue is still there (blocking browser access to net), but I'm not sure if this is an issue at all, or it's just the behavior the developers intended to achieve. Gonna trial this till the end of month, and then, maybe, forking out some ca$h for it... ;) Please, don't screw it with next builds, Jetico. :D

    Stay well and prosper... :cool:
     
  4. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758

    yeah please review and try it first before releasing new version.

    i'm very satisfied with jetico firewall (ver. 32)....no freezing problem at all!!!!
     
  5. yahoo

    yahoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    290
    Location:
    nowhere
    Maybe I was the only unlucky one. When I tried 2.0.0.30, my computer froze at startup even though I always clicked 'Allow' for any pop-up. A new release every one or two weeks looks quite insteresting to me.
     
  6. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    I believe the updates were frequent due to beta development. That should be stabilized (less frequent) now with final releases. I actually don't like frequent updates - it means that the product is still under serious development. fce and yahoo, funny that you both mention freezing, I had other issues with Jetico, but it never froze on me. o_O

    Cheers ;)
     
  7. hiro

    hiro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Posts:
    77
    31-May-2007 version 2.0.0.33 released. Changes:
    System crash on high load fixed.
    http://www.jetico.com/jpf2.htm

    Hi, yahoo
    Could you try if with JPF v2.0.0.33 still you have problem?
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2007
  8. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758
    if i have JPF ver. 2.0.0.32 and i want to update to ver .33 do i need to uninstall the old version?

    still i'm in trial mode
     
  9. hiro

    hiro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Posts:
    77
    Hi, fce

    - you no need to uninstall the old version, but I recommended you, to do.
     
  10. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    Let's say i would recommend to uninstall first the old version.

    - Safe your config file (jpfconfig.xml)
    - Uninstall olde version
    - reboot
    - Install new version
    - copy your 'safed' Config file to the original place
    - Reboot.
     
  11. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    Hello. :)

    I just did that without uninstalling 32, of course made a snapshot of the system first. Disconnected from net, backed-up config, shut firewall down. It passed nice, even the config is retained. A bit more memory used... we'll see...

    Cheers.:thumb:
     
  12. tisungho

    tisungho Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    148
    I installed Jetico once, and never used it again. 'Cause it blocked my connection after installing.
    Can u tell me more information about it? Such as what I concern in a personal firewall is: quality (passed most of the leak test) and light on system resource.
     
  13. gavel

    gavel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    tisungho

    More about it you can read on http://www.jetico.com/jpf2.htm.
    About the leak test you can find more info on indicated site.
    With full working regime system resource go: memory usage around 15K (two services), if you exit with jpf.exe then remain only jpvserver with 6-7K.
    CPU usage 00.
     
  14. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    Hello. ;)

    Well, if this is your criteria for a firewall quality, then I'd say Jetico is very much a quality product. :D Look here. But maybe you'll prefer Comodo, it's quality is yet unsurpassed... :cool: Dunno why Jetico blocked your net, perhaps has something to do with indirect network access? Betas were pretty troublesome, but these few final versions are now... well, almost final. Give it another go, it deserves a chance. ;) BTW, have you tried v1 (the free version)? I never had any problems with it. And it's even lighter on resources than v2...

    Regards.
     
  15. gavel

    gavel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    If you carefuli read Matousec ratings table, you can see that Comodo pass less leak test of Jetico v2, but have rated 100 point + because is free.

    When you have finish configuring Jetico with all needed rule for all software what you use, right clik on Jetico icon and "Exit". Now you can surf with no future popup.
    JPF work in background, all what not have permission is blocked by default, without alert. Memory usage with only running jpfsrv.exe is 6-7K like v1. To see what happend just run jpf.exe again.
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2007
  16. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    Hello. :D

    Oh, is that true? I really didn't know that, I'm not a frequent visitor of Matousec site. Thanks for the info. I'm sorry I was just a bit sarcastic with my statement regarding Comodo, I'm not really it's fan. ;) Thank you also for your suggestions on closing Jetico GUI to avoid popups, but v2 has now the ability to be taken out of learning mode (for each table separately), so there's another way to do it. No problems with me and Jetico resources here - I can see now the processes are not going over 15 megs. That's very acceptable.

    Regards,
     
  17. hiro

    hiro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Posts:
    77
    Hi,
    Demo License prolonged to Jul, 16.

    -----BEGIN SIGNED MESSAGE-----
    LICENSE_TYPE: Evaluation version
    EXPIRATION_DATE: Mon Jul 16 17:55:08 2007 (469B4E8C)
    Signature:
    BIGAC5WxHvg3A80yseyfuVNPCud9yXnJCYfqdmxY6A2FomEXb+yvYGY0uUHwuBp9uB1J
    y84rjGIGW+ULbFwwjMN5uHfHvoTW1k/S9UpleGLbOadTSw1lJmNz+GtnR+hkwOu0
    ryMtm3UJPePt+o6xq64rkHByWe7/siq/8pQgNb5DTS8=
    -----END SIGNED MESSAGE-----

    Thanks for help
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.