java script problems with windows xp.

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by rsxtreme, Jul 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rsxtreme

    rsxtreme Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Posts:
    28
    ok. so my internet. java script thing is bleh. dont know what happend
    basically. a normal page will have all the links/ad's.
    but on mine little picture/icons are missing. basically a box with x. when i move my mouse to the area. it says javascript:pbopenwindow?
    windows.com.says its a script error with java. and to fix it i need the service pack 1. i have it on my comp and **** says it needs it
    help?

    if this helps. i downloaded the java thing

    thanks!
     
  2. rsxtreme

    rsxtreme Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Posts:
    28
  3. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,878
    Location:
    New England
    Well, I'm afraid it's hard to understand the problem just based upon what's been posted above. It's possible that a cleaning and scanning process could help, followed by posting a HijackThis Log in our spyware cleaning forum section. This process, including posting of the log and where to post it, is explained in this thread:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=15913
     
  4. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,878
    Location:
    New England
    The log posted here was split off and moved to the proper forum section at this link:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=41314

    Look for any followups in that thread. Please note that it may take quite a while for log review threads to be reviewed and responded to.
     
  5. rsxtreme

    rsxtreme Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Posts:
    28
    it has nothing to do with spyware.
    its my internet explorer having java script problems. anyone shed some light on my problems :p
    and damn ie closes sometimes randomly. :(
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2004
  6. Close_Hauled

    Close_Hauled Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,015
    Location:
    California
    You sound desperate.

    First, go to the "Add or Remove Programs" control panel and remove all versions of Sun Java.

    Second, goto the download page for Windows XP SP1 and download "Windows XP Service Pack 1a Network Installation". Run that to reinstall service pack one.

    Next go to the Java web site and download the latest version of Sun Java. Install it and give it a try.

    If it still fails, go to the Internet Explorer download page. Download "Internet Explorer 6 Service Pack 1" and install it.

    Check it out again. If it does not work, come back here and I have some more ideas.

    Close Hauled
     
  7. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I was having a few problems with sun jave until I got the latest version 1.5 It has worked very well since install several months ago as a beta.
     
  8. rsxtreme

    rsxtreme Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Posts:
    28
    ok. so i downloaded the service pack 1a. installed it.
    deleted all the java. and installed the 1.5 beta. and the pages still have some broken links. with red x's and some page not shown
     
  9. Close_Hauled

    Close_Hauled Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,015
    Location:
    California
    Post the link.
     
  10. rsxtreme

    rsxtreme Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Posts:
    28
    i meant. like on the internet explorer. there are a bunch of little icons/pictures and some advertisement. some are not shown.it has that page not shown stuff. and as for the icon/pictures its just a red x .
    i pull my mouse over and it says" java script pb openwindow()" on the status bar
     
  11. Close_Hauled

    Close_Hauled Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,015
    Location:
    California

    Post a web site that you are using that has the problem.
     
  12. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    it could be down to new software you have installed.it sounds like the sort of thing that happens to me.what were the last programs you installed?
     
  13. rsxtreme

    rsxtreme Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Posts:
    28
    it all started after i ran the spybot program. after it dected 2 things from the registery. i "fixed" it and started having this
     
  14. Close_Hauled

    Close_Hauled Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,015
    Location:
    California
    Spybot can undo what it has done. I just do not remember how to do it. Do you have Spybot 1.2, or 1.3?
     
  15. rsxtreme

    rsxtreme Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Posts:
    28
    i went back and "undo" the fix and it was still the same problem.. i have v.1.3
     
  16. Close_Hauled

    Close_Hauled Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,015
    Location:
    California
    I noticed that you reinstalled SP1a and the new Java. Did you reinstall IE6 SP1?

    Close Hauled
     
  17. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    im sorry,rsxtreme that i took you in the wrong direction,you should probably put those enteries back in spybot.
     
  18. rsxtreme

    rsxtreme Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Posts:
    28
    i never downloaded the sp1. i downloaded the sp1a. and installed it.. hm? well i dont know what to do. but i do thank you guys for the help!
     
  19. rsxtreme

    rsxtreme Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Posts:
    28
    i think somefiles were replaced in the registery or from ie6. do you guys think its time for a reformat?
     
  20. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i think you should wait and see if someone else can help you.wait and see if Close_Hauled has any other ideas too.
     
  21. Close_Hauled

    Close_Hauled Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,015
    Location:
    California
    No! Please don't reformat.

    Please check your Event Viewer and look at both Application log and the System Log.

    Also, please, please post the link of a website that is failing to run Java. I just want to follow along with you and see what the site is trying to.
     
  22. rsxtreme

    rsxtreme Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Posts:
    28
    its like most pages. you have lets say some advertisements and some little icons. on a webpage i get about 90 percent of the stuff. and 10 are either "action canceled""404 not found" and a box with x.
    where do i go look for the event viewer thing at?>
     
  23. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    START>CONTROL PANEL>ADMINISTRATIVE TOOLS>EVENT VIEWER.



    snowbound
     
  24. rsxtreme

    rsxtreme Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Posts:
    28
    i think i may have found the problem
    it says a bunch of errors
    here is what i copied
    "The nVidia WDM Video Capture (universal) service failed to start due to the following error:
    The service cannot be started, either because it is disabled or because it has no enabled devices associated with it.

    For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp."
     
  25. rsxtreme

    rsxtreme Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Posts:
    28
    anyone know how to solve this?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.