Java Applets & Clipbd Trojans?

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by qwertyz, Mar 16, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. qwertyz

qwertyz Registered Member

Hello to all :)

I use e-gold.com and other sites that have virtual keyboards for entering passwords. I read at another forum that virtual keyboards are just java applets and these applets have been hacked to record and capture passwords. Can someone please confirm and elaborate on this? How do you beat these java trojans?

If I use copy and paste to enter passwords, are there clipboard trojans that can capture all my daily clipboard activities and covertly email them back to a hacker? How do you defeat a clipboard trojan?

I am a newbie to this area of security. I also invest and bank online a lot. I do not want to get hacked, and my accounts stolen. I use a firewall, and antivirus. Please advise me on the safer ways to enter password and login information.

I have also heard of 'password managers'. Are they any good? Do they store your passwords encrypted on your computer? Can password managers be easily hacked also?

Thanks for any help! qwertyz o_O :cool:

2. Shunned

Shunned Guest

Java applets can be extremely dangerous.
    An applet will bypass many security programs but not much is ever said on that subject..for some reason. In fact, its been no less than a couple of years since last I seen someone ask questions about java applets.
    Can not answer some of your questions specifically so will just say my own trend regarding applets.
    First I use an anti-virus program that monitors java applets for hostle applets. I wont suggest any particular anti-virus program because I just don't do that....
    On line banking: completely out of the question for me.....not acceptable.
    Credit card use: Completely un-acceptable